Come and help us on our sociopolitical initiative in Innsbruck, Austria



Bisher 175 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Abzeichen


 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    CURRENTLY NO URGENT NEED FOR SUPPORT - however you might ask us for a stay and we will see if it's possible.

    Dear workawayers!

    This is a sociopolitical initiative based in an old farmhouse on the outskirts of Innsbruck.

    We are a relaxed bunch and this is the perfect place to stop and enjoy the mountain scenery while still being right next to the city of Innsbruck.

    The project was started to offer accommodation to a group of Roma people who regularly travel here to work and has been growing ever since. The house is now surrounded by a community garden with some permacultural elements and gives home to different farm animals (chicken, sheep, ducks, donkeys, rabbits, bees,...). Also it acts as a stopping point for pilgrims and is furthermore an educational and cultural meeting place hosting various interesting events throughout the whole year.

    We also have developed a forest garden on the land beneath the house, manage a chicken co-operative and planted a gift garden - where people passing by can help themselves to fruit and vegetables.

    We aim to keep the story of the Roma and the misunderstandings and social and economic injustices they face central to the project.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    - gardening, permaculture
    - taking care of animals
    - wood work
    - living in a multicultural surroundings
    - socialpolitical impacts of a project like this

  • Arbeit


    Help depends on the season. It can range from gardening and woodwork, repairing things, cleaning, building, making things beautiful and making beautiful things. We expect 10 net-hours of help per week. Working times will be fixed rather flexible according to the daily needs and your possibilities. We don't provide food but do have a lovely kitchen as well as an outdoor pizza oven + solar cooker which can be used in summer time. The fact that we can not pay you meals does not mean that there can't be some collective cooking and actually we will offer helpers saisonal fruits and vegetables from our farm during harvest season!!!

    In order to be fair we ask every guest to help us with cleaning the daily used sites. If you are not comfortable cleaning toilets, then perhaps you shouldn't be using them.

    There is a tour of the house, garden etc. every Saturday at 5pm where we expect all volunteers to participate in order to understand the sociopolitical context of our initiative.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    German: Fließend
    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    Very simple, basic accomodation, depending on the season. Volunteers can either sleep in the barn, equipped with couches (or you bring your hammock :), or sleep in a Pilgrims Room with 3 bunk beds. and use the community kitchen and either indoor or outdoor bathroom/toilet; camping with your tent is also an option, and, we have a tipi if you like it rustical and natural :)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    This is a beautiful place where you can relax and enjoy the views from the garden, in the outskirts of innsbruck. The town is only 10min by bike, 15min by bus, the bus is leaving every 15min, the bus station is 5-10min walk from here.
    If you like hiking, climbing, being in nature...innsbruck is the right place for you!

    We speak English
    Wir sprechen Deutsch
    Hablamos Español

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    10 hours/week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 562277372975