General Yard Help With Horses in Ballacolla, Ireland

Country

Irland

Bisher 81 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    02.10.2017

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Our property is located in the midlands in a rural setting. I live with my mother and sister who both work outside the home. I have a small private barn( 9 stables) producing young horses for competition. I am on the yard most days and my sister rides occasionally.

    There is a luxurious bijoux double bedroom available in a small self contained 2 bed apartment ( shared ) over the horses in the barn. It is very comfortable and homely.
    It would be an idea location from which to explore the surrounding countryside, with a variety of forest and hill walks in the locality. Our place would suit someone looking for quite time for relaxation, reading, writing and enjoying nature. We are however 7mins drive from the historic town of Abbeyleix, 20mins from Portlaoise, 35mins from Kilkenny City. There would also be an option to travel to horse shows, horse sales and other equine related trips around the country.


    In exchange for 5 hours work 5 days per week, beautiful accomodation and good healthy food you will be asked to
    - Carry out basic house keeping as part of the family
    - Mucking out stables ( this is daily work Max 9 stables- It is not excessively demanding as there is a modern set up with rubber matting!!! If you are used to this type of work you will find it a breeze!!!)
    - I will need help grooming, changing rugs on horses and turning them in and out daily
    - Somebody who is generally handy at DIY, fixing things and little general maintenance.

    Basic horse experience is required (enough that you are confident handling them but riding is not a specific requirement.)

    I am looking for someone who is hard working, honest, fun and easy going with high levels of motivation!
    I would like someone who is good company around the yard with a smile on their face.

    There will be trial period of 2 weeks and should that work out well the minimum stay should be 4 weeks.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The "workaway" person who comes to stay will be welcomed as part of the family and will be included in all aspects of daily life. We are all university educated with backgrounds in Property, Law and Healthcare so this represents a great opportunity to further your English.

    There is the opportunity to see and learn how young competition horses are cared for and produced to a high standard. There will be the option to attend horse shows, training and sales.

    Socialising is not wild locally with 3 pubs in the small village 2 miles away but there is the option of going to Durrow or Abbeyleix to sample Irish culture with traditional music and set dancing as well as card playing.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Daily help required on the yard will include:-
    Helping hay and feed the horses.
    Mucking out max 9 stables
    Grooming horses before riding
    Washing off / grooming horses after riding
    Changing rugs and turn out
    Helping put up show jumping fences
    Tack cleaning

    Occasional Yard duties:-
    Unloading bales of shavings and bags of feed
    Paddock maintenance

    Perks
    You will have a option to learn more about producing horses for competition and grooming
    Should you be of a higher standard training & coaching may be provided with the possibility of lunging, riding and hacking ( the horses are young and not established in their training so this opportunity is NOT GUARANTEED )

    General maintenance examples:-
    fixing stable door fittings
    painting walls
    painting gates, windows, fences
    cleaning windows
    lifting / putting together furniture
    general DIY

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    A small but luxurious double room with a 6ft bed, wardrobe & chair is provided for you in a self contained 2 bed apartment. There is a large shower with body jets super for tired muscles after a days work or an adventure. We will have meals together and you will be involved in food prep. There is a shared living area with a T.V.

    It is very important our premises is STRICTLY NON SMOKING!!!!!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Located in the midlands of Ireland in Co. Laois an area of great heritage and natural beauty.

    Abbeyleix our local town has beautiful buildings and a number of historic links. Morrissey's is a very famous Pub in the town which originally traded as a general store and was first registered in 1735. It even features in the lonely planet guide as a must visit spot. There is a very good library in the town also.

    Durrow is another village close to us which is often busy with cultural events & festivals. Attractions include Sheppards Irish Auction House for people interested in fine art and antiques, Durrow Castle, Bob's Bar and Bowes Cafe.

    Kilkenny is the closest city which has many attractions.

    There are good transport links from Portlaoise with Buses and trains to the Capital city Dublin.

    I will be attending horse shows and sales around the country throughout the year and you are of course welcome to travel with me.

    Having horses means that I keep a regular routine; life is mainly quiet with a small bit of socialising. If you are hoping for lots of entertainment our lifestyle is quiet and simple but you are welcome to travel and explore from your base with us on your time off.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 559159751833