Join us at a sustainable-living hobby farm in Lund BC, Canada



Bisher 27 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 15 Tage


 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    We are a family of 3 with a cat who tend to be more home-bodies because of all our projects. We have recently moved to a 5 acre plot with an extensive garden on the coast just outside the most beautiful city in BC. We love gardening and are slowly renovating areas of our house bit by bit. It would be great to have some help from people who would like the opportunity to participate in organic year- round gardening a variety of herbs and vegetables or general property maintenance like chopping wood and brush trimming. I do all sorts of construction and would be happy to teach anyone interested in learning a particular trade or just general home maintenance skills. We have a trailer on our property we are looking to renovate. We are interested in doing a couple of natural sustainable building projects using reclaimed materials such as a cordwood cabin or earth building, cedar hot tubs and maybe a tree house. I'm involved with Search and Rescue in Powell River and my mother runs a non-for-profit organization in town. Our family friend who lives with us helps with all our varied activities. In general we love to volunteer ourselves and love to work with others that are like minded and put others needs above their own.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are in a beautiful area approx. 4 minutes drive from the resort village of Lund where there is water taxi access to several islands in the area for recreation. We are only minutes from several access points to the Sunshine coast trail and the longest hut to hut hiking trail in bc. We have tents, back packs and sleeping bags that could be borrowed. The area of Powell River has every outdoor recreation opportunity such as climbing, hiking and mountain biking. There are tons of community events here for those interested in farmers markets, bush craft skills, natural craft hobbies etc. I have been in the construction business for 11 years and would be happy to pass on my knowledge to anyone interested in being more well rounded and self sufficient in that regard. There is an extensive tool collection for anyone interested in working on their own crafts or hobbies.

  • Arbeit


    We have a vast array of interests and projects and are looking for assistance from others that like varied work. We have a large stack of alder/yellow cedar logs to cut/chop for firewood so it would be useful to have someone with chainsaw experience. Building/framing experience is a real asset, as is working with different power tools. Im also developing a 400 sq ft herb garden because I'm interested in learning more about using herbs in my daily life as tea/medicine. We are in the beginning stages of designing a new kitchen/ main floor layout. We have a lot of general maintenance work such as painting, weed eating and hedge trimming. I have begun a 12- ibc tote rainwater harvest system but need to tweek certain aspects of it as well as hook them up to drip systems over our 4-5 different garden areas. My goal is to have a few of these totes made into natural filters so that we will have filtered drinking water for the house should our electric well pump turn off. In general we are hoping to move to a more off-the-grid lifestyle and would love more ideas of how to do that well.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    We have two recently renovated rooms available (approx. 8 x 14ft ) in our 2-level, approx. 2000 sq ft house with beautiful views or we have a few outdoor buildings that could be easily retrofitted into bedrooms if you prefer more privacy. This is a shared living accommodation with a common kitchen and living area, We do have wifi on non-cloudy days. We tend to barbecue often as we have very spacious decks around our house. The property is incredibly unique and there are extensive areas to get away by yourself including a gazebo with a view of the ocean, a small trail and many tenting areas. There are laundry facilities on the premises and 2 shared washroom facilities. I do the majority of cooking and we tend to eat very well and very diverse meals but it would be great to have help cooking some dinners. We eat dinner together as a family every day and we enjoy that time together. We are all meat eaters but have a very large vegetable garden on the property. There is lots of wildlife and most likely you will see eagles and deer every day as well as black bears on the odd occasion.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live approximately 30-40 minutes outside of the main city and there is limited bus traffic. My mom goes into town 5 out of 7 days of the week if you would like a ride and my schedule is very varied as I am self-employed....I spend almost 50% of my time at home currently as its garden season but would be happy to drive/escort you around the area on occasion if you have particular activities you are interested in. We are about 4 minutes drive from the ocean and a resort with a grocery store, a couple cafes and restaurants and Terracentric outdoor rentals (kayaks and canoes) and guiding tours and outdoor courses for ocean kayaking etc. You can rent bikes and do whale tours and dinner cruises there also. We are quiet people and occasionally have neighbours and friends drop by to visit for dinner. We spend most of our evenings after a long hard days work together with a bottle of wine watching our favorite shows on Netflix or playing board games.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have wifi through satellite. It's not the fastest but we do have a large data package. We have an office and many other private places to work.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    I dont currently have any water or electrical hook ups for trailers but I'm working on running electrical and I have rain barrels outside for rainwater harvesting we could place nearby

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 552517991779