Help me create a small non-profit school of yoga and permaculture in Sarzades, Portugal

Country

Portugal

new host  

Bisher 32 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

    noch nicht bewertet
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    23.07.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    INTRODUCTION
    Olá! I'm Adam, from the UK and am preparing to start a project on a small abandoned farm in the green heart of Portugal, a riverside paradise 20kms west of Castelo Branco. This is the beginning of an exciting, explorative and hopefully an extremely fulfilling project. Right now it's just me working on the land but the long term goal is to create a small non-profit school of yoga and permaculture. My vision includes:

    🌱 building geodesic yoga dome and superabobe tiny guest houses using as much locally sourced materials as possible;
    🌱Integrating renewable and free energy techniques and technology;
    🌱 Growing a food forest of colour, fragrance and edibles and encouraging wild foraging of food;
    🌱Giving back to the community of local people and volunteers, through tree donations and scholarships and subsidised training on our courses.

    ABOUT ME
    I've been teaching yoga and giving Thai massage professionally for quite a few years now. Three years ago I completed a PDC and have worked on a few permaculture projects since. This will be the first of my own and I'd be delighted to teach others along the way.

    LOCATION & PROJECT IDEAS
    I'm naming the project Vale do Tão. It's in a very secluded area with both a river and a stream along it's border. In India, the place where two bodies of water meet is said to be a very special place. It's also got both flat and sloped sections of land with existing fruit trees. It all needs a lot of love and attention so it's going to be a raw start to off-grid living.

    There's a whole host of permaculture and sustainability type work that I've got planned for this project. From compost toilet construction to eco-building, fruit tree pruning and digging earthworks, the help is diverse (see the list below for more details). Sound exciting?

    THE IDEAL HELPER
    This is an invite to anyone (including couples) who has a keen interest in developing experience in permaculture and eco-building with superadobe. If you have a positive attitude, great team work ethic, good communication skills and don't mind sleeping in a tent (you may have one to yourself or be sharing with another Workawayer) until the ruin has been rebuilt, then it would be great to hear from you. If you have your own camper, you're very welcome. Also, any Portuguese speakers are also most welcome as I would love to practice. No smokers please.

    A TYPICAL DAY
    I believe in fairness and a good team effort. We'll aim to work a maximum of 5 hours, 5 days a week, including cooking meals and cleaning up. If we run over when a job needs to get done, we'll then work less the next day. A typical hot summer day might look like this:
    0600 Yoga & meditation (optional)
    0700-1000 help
    1000 breakfast
    1100-1700 time to chill, eat, explore, etc
    1700-1900 help including dinner preparation

    GETTING HERE:
    Sarzades is about 2h15 by car from Lisbon (via the toll roads). If you don't have a car we can arrange to pick you up from Castelo Branco.

    The closest airport is also Lisbon Portela Airport. From there, there is the options of both buses and trains to get to Castelo Branco.

    By train, take the airport metro to Lisboa Santa Apolonia train station. You need to buy a metro card, it's simple and cheap.
    At the train station buy a train ticket for Castelo Branco (I've read that online systems are unreliable).

    If choosing bus, take the 509 bus (operated by Comboios de Portugal) from the airport to SETE RIOS STATION. Tickets for Castelo Branco can be bought from the ticket office. I understand that Citi Express is the bus company.

    Other ways may include car-sharing apps like BlaBlaCar, although I have not used this app in Portugal.

    THINGS TO BRING
    Long sleeved clothes and hat for sun protection;
    Head torch for night-time;
    A sleeping bag if you want to sleep in the hammock, and;
    Water bottle (fresh spring water will be provided)

    Off-grid living takes a certain amount of acceptance and humility for the way things are. Don't expect luxurious comfort, at least not yet.

    If all this appeals to you, then drop me a message. We'll arrange to have a virtual chat and go from there. This is a wonderful opportunity for you to be part of an entirely new and ambitious project, immersed deeply in the abundance of nature.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You'll learn a great deal about permaculture. Plus also daily yoga. By the way, if you are also a bodyworker, treatment exchanges would be most welcome.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The biggest goals for the rest of the 2021 are:
    Install a hydraulic pump for water supply;
    Create an electricity turbine;
    Rebuild the ruin into a living space;
    Create a greywater distribution system;
    Construct a compost toilet;
    Construct a yoga deck on the hill;
    Construct decking for the river;
    Install a polytunnel plant nursery;
    Dig water-harvesting earthworks before autumn rains;
    Prune the existing fruit trees and harvest their fruit.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Portugiesisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Food and accommodation included.

    A two person tent or space for a campervan plus three vegetarian meals a day.

    Please note: until there are the systems in place there is no running hot water, mains electric or WiFi. The valley does have good 4G connection, a river (all year) and a seasonal stream for washing and an abundance of sunlight for solar chargers!

    If you have any special dietary requirements, like gluten or dairy free products, then perhaps it is best to bring your choice of product first, then we try to source it locally.

    I've got no problem if you eat meat and want to buy your own, just a bit difficult storing it without electricity.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I've yet to really explore the area myself but I'm happy to include volunteers in exploration. There are two small villages with local amenities, both 3kms away, one with a river beach. We'll also do a weekly trip to the city for any necessities and a shot of culture. The Garduhna and Estrella mountain ranges are to the north, about an hour drive away.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Room for one medium wheelbase campervan.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Pets are fine, as long as they understand that the chickens are friends not food!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 549714443349