Help with renovation project and starting up permaculture garden in the South of France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 36 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    01.07.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    233

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi, I'm Kai. I recently bought an old house (classified as a historical building) in the beautiful town of Ille-sur-Têt in the south of France in the foothills of the Mount Canigou and am currently renovating it. There is still a lot to be done and I could really do with some help. At the same time I am also starting a permaculture project 2 Km away from here so we will also be outside a lot, working in the garden. If you love nature, old buildings, gardening and a simple life, I think you will love it here.
    I'm generally outgoing, fun-loving, happy, nature-crazy and patient (I'm a language teacher ;).

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    There are several things I hope can offer you: language exchange (I speak German, French, Spanish, Dutch and English so you can train any language you might be learning or wish to learn. I can teach you how to cook vegetarian/vegan meals and you can participate in my own trials of starting a permaculture garden, making vegan cheeses, marmalade, bread, homemade cosmetics etc (as per season). The surroundings are stunning so you can enjoy hiking and discovering the Pyrenees in your spare time.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Some of the tasks that still need doing on the house are: insulating the roof of the attic, sanding wooden floor, drilling holes, strip wooden doors, replacing windows, electricity... (Cooking and keeping the house tidy will not be considered as part of the help needed, so that will be done outside of work hours.)
    In the garden, I've only just started cleaning the plot, so basically everything needs done there. It's gonna be fun!!
    I am really looking for someone (or more than one) who's not afraid to work hard and loves gardening and DIY-ing. Things like initiative, reliability, commitment and respect are very important to me, but behind all the serious talk, I am generally quite relaxed and flexible. In the house it is not allowed to smoke, although I would consider making an exception for the room in the attic. I don't have pets and although I love animals, sadly pets aren't allowed mainly because of the wooden floors.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, French, German, Dutch, Spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation can either be in a room in the attic or in a tent in the garden. Please be aware that the room doesn't have any luxuries. There will soon be a bathroom and hopefully, some electricity for a Tv. Otherwise TV is only downstairs (in the house) and mainly in French. I'm not a big TV watcher myself so it's generally off, but I love watching a good movie (generally in English).
    I don't eat much meat, and the main meals will be vegetarian and healthy (very little white meal, sugar, dairy etc). Breakfast will be simple and lunch will be cooked (together). Dinner is for yourself to provide (buy and cook) as I have irregular work hours.
    If you want to eat meat, drink alcohol or eat white bread, cookies, junk food, sugary stuff etc, you will have to buy that yourself. Otherwise I have no limitations in regards to food and drink, but obviously won't accept anybody getting (or coming home) drunk in my house.
    General rules are simple: clean up after yourself & be open if there is any problem. Communication is key to you having a good stay here.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The nearby airports are: Perpignan/Rivesaltes (30 min), Carcassonne (80 minutes) and Gerona (80 minutes). I'm happy to pick you up from the airport but for Carcassonne and Gerona I would ask for some petrol money.
    Ille-sur-Têt is connected by train so you can get almost to my door by train from anywhere.
    If you get to Perpignan, you can get to Ille either by bus or train for 1€. Transport in this area is brilliant as you can get everywhere for just 1€.
    I normally teach most afternoons, so the rhythm will be mainly mornings helping with the projects, afternoons off.
    Weather permitting, we can have barbecues outside most days.
    I have a bike you can borrow if you want to explore the surroundings. When I'm free, I'll be more than happy to go hiking with you and explore the surroundings myself as I haven't had much time to do any sightseeing. If you like the city, you can go to Perpignan by bus, but if you like drinking and going out in the evenings, this is not the right place for you.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

View of the Mount Canigou from Ille-sur-Têt
The surroundings
View of Ille on my way back from the garden
The garden
The garden
Entry to my house
My place
The attic
The attic, one side
The attic, 70 m2 !!
The room above the attic
The garden, partial vue. it's 7000 m2 !

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 546945681371