Help with the vegetable garden for a home educating family in Newent, Gloucestershire, UK



Bisher 313 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
  • Beschreibung


    We are a busy home Educating family living in Newent 15km from The Forest of Dean in Gloucestershire.

    Please note the photos are about 4 years old! Will update
    Just reactivating my account

    Newent is a small market town surrounded by a lovely mixture of farmland and woodland. It is on bus routes to a variety of towns and cities

    If you like making things, Christmas crafts, Cleaning eg Clean outside windows and general house support then this is our current tasks.

    Ideally in the Spring and summer I need someone with a passion for gardening, tending greenhouse plants, weeding the allotment and helping in and around the kitchen and house ...... someone who loves kids too ... you would be welcome to join us on our activities .... cheers

    Workawayers need to like the outdoors, have a little experience of vegetable planting and be able to cope whatever the weather. IT IS VERY COLD AT TIMES IN WINTER. We do spend whole days outside .... sometimes sitting by a fire cooking and chopping wood and so please be prepared for this.

    Other duties include keeping on top if my kitchen which struggles when I am too busy and helping with food preparation. My house isn't spotless but I do aspire to it feeling like home ... not just an extension of the garden haha! Also helping us get out and in for our outings and playing with the kids some times.
    If you fancy making me a cup of tea when I look exhausted that always goes down well haha!! I struggle sometimes with back pain ... my latest workaway was a physio and she is leaving me with the challenge of correcting how I use my body. So if you are a physio do let me know x

    Some workaways choose to come with us on our outings for fun, others like to spend the time studying, exercising or relaxing.

    General background ....
    We live a busy life with a small allotment, We often spend time at home and around Newent but also enjoy visits to local places and enjoy other children coming to play and learn with us. We love the outdoors and the fabulous array of activities you can do outside. We love to explore, read books, play games, cook, create things with junk and a variety of art materials etc.

    As a family we are interested in learning Spanish and Swahili (spoken by Daddy), but we especially love to learn about all cultures and languages.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We love to hear about your culture and food and happy to chat about ours .... not that we are necessarily a typical English family ... if there is such a thing.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    We are looking for Workaways for short stays (usually a couple of weeks) to come and share our days with us. We expect up to 5 hours help a day in exchange for food and accomodation. Workaways need appropriate clothing for gardening and being out in the woods in a variety of weather conditions.

    There is also the opportunity to come out with us sometimes and explore or you can do your own thing when help is not needed.

    The help includes helping me to keep on top of running or home , including cooking for the family to give me a break occasionally. Help with cleaning and generally preparing and clearing the days play and whatever seasonal activities are going on.

    You may need to visit allotment alone sometimes so some vegetable gardening experience would be great.

    Volunteers need to be proactive and self motivated to work alone sometimes. I tend to communicate what needs doing with a daily list and a project list so that workaways can take the initiative to get on. For example when my kids need my company or who would be happy to play with them whilst I get on or have a small break. You would be expected to keep the kitchen clear so it is ready for the next onslaught of activity. I have a list on the wall of jobs I do everyday which I would love help with. There is also a list that workaways can do alone if we are busy.

    We have now had 10 plus workaways to visit and each has been different and all lovely. We value open conversation to ensure we all have a positive experience.

    We are keen to learn Spanish in particular(But definitely not a criteria!) and would welcome your encouragement. In addition if you have particular interests or strengths we are keen to explore them.

    You will be welcomed to live as part of the family and join us with some of our activities. We have a mountain bike you can borrow. We like to get out for some fresh air most days and also swim in the local pool. Our speed of walking and cycling is however at the pace of the kids.

    Our life changes with the seasons .... In the colder winter months we enjoy craft, technology and science projects, TV documentaries, reading and winter stomps as well as catching up with friends .... In SPRING we are also busy preparing the allotment and planting seeds ... In summer if it,'s not too hot and hayfevery we love to be out exploring and camping as well as doing projects and chilling at home. Autumn is one of our favourite months .... Harvesting, beautiful woodland colours, mountain biking celebrating lots of festivals and learning about other ciltures, Present making for Christmas and couching up at the end of the day with a nice meal and a story .....This is just a selection of what we do and of course Home Education is weaved throughout and our weeks vary depending on the children's interests.

    Both my kids love music ... My daughter in particular loves to dance and gymnastics .. They love board games, and my son especially loves number challenges, lego and kicking balls about. Both love a good game of tag or hide and seek. They are both into clothing their bears at the moment. They have both just acquired remote control cars ....

    We all enjoy being out on our bikes if the weather is right ... We try to get fresh air most days!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    You need to be flexible in the sleeping department as the options are using one of the kids rooms or a mattress on lounge floor or a sleeping bag in the playhouse .... sorry!. The volunteer would have full use evenings and night time but some shared use in the day would be encouraged as this is the largest room in the house. There is cupboard and shelf space to stow your stuff! There are other quiet spots in the house. Our house is friendly but often in a creative state of play or diy. We don't have a spotless house as you would expect with young children at home regularly, although I do aspire to organised and tidy!... we welcome someone who is happy to join in with us ...

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is so much to do around here in Gloucestershire it is hard to know where to start. For example there is a leisure centre a five minute walk from the house, walks and cycles into the local countryside, The City of Gloucester is bustling with history, Ledbury has a train station to the Malvern Hills) We are happy to help volunteers explore the area and find out what interests them. There are plenty of buses.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 546683531337