Come enjoy permaculture, native trees, green woodwork and low impact living in Isle of Man, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 462 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    22.06.2022

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    148

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi I don't often check my Workaway messages, if you're interested in coming to volunteer here , please ring me -ask me for the number- or message me

    We're looking for volunteers all through the year here but it's much more comfortable in the summer! This is an established OFF GRID permaculture community spread out over three sites. There is no house, so unless you have been to a community, love the countryside or fancy glamping, it may not be for you. On the beautiful Isle of Man there is so much history and natural beauty, rare animals etc... but also added travel costs of minimum of £40 from UK. (Boat from Liverpool or Heysham (sail and rail can save a lot) and flights from Liverpool and others). We will meet you on arrival no problem. We have a permaculture project, forest garden, orchard and native Manx oak tree plantation. Chris next door is an endless source of knowledge on outdoor living, wild food, wood, yurt making, charcoal and outrageous jokes . My partner Jon is tech support and across the road is Kerrowkneale, a community with a nature reserve, tree nursery and free allotments. Accommodation is a turf roofed cabin, a gypsy caravan and a yurt, all with their own wood stoves. 12V electric for phones and tablets and music. Gas cooker and running water so not so different really (much!) Compost loo and gas shower. Also a super cool mum with her own project and lovely wooden cabin. There are bikes here and the beach is 15mins cycle away. We will show you around the island, which is beautiful and quite different from England. We love sitting round the fire and jamming, carving and eating cake in the evening. We are not veggie but veggie and vegan very welcome. We are an easy going group of folk who like to laugh and work and eat well.
    We have chickens, lambs and lots of fruit and nut trees and land that needs hacking back, mowing, planting and maintaining, as well as the various log cabins and caravans etc, which all need a lick of paint or windows fixing.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Between our group we have a lot of skills we could share. Music, permaculture, spinning, natural dyes, wild food, herbs, edible plants, fruit preserving, charcoal making, renewable power, alternative technology, sustainable building, yurt making, tree growing, vegetable growing, Celtic music, dance. The archaeology here is renowned as are rare birds, plants and animals (plus the TT races!! :0) and the Island is perfect for walking, beaches, beautiful scenery, glens, steam trains, horse trams etc.
    We are not part of the UK so have our own government (the longest continuous democratic government in world) and money, stamps, laws etc so truly a cultural experience we will be happy to help you discover.
    .

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Mostly there is lots of gardening, both skilled and general. But if gardening is not prefered, there is also lots of woodwork/painting i.e. on the gypsy caravan, a new cabin. DIY. Then there is Chris who needs help coppicing, yurt making etc. He knows so much about old crafts and much more. But there is also art needing placing, signs writing, and funky stuff needing painting as we are is opening to visitors this summer at weekends. So getting the place tidy, preparing educational and fun stuff is part of the plan. I would expect four hours five days a week for food and accomodation. Preferably afternoons. But if you want to mix it up however you want for more free days, we are very flexible

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I am interested in learning some Spanish and polish. I'm afraid I can only speak English and a little Manx Gaelic.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    No house but a roomy cabin with living room that has a fold out double bed and fire. Also kitchen and dining room where you are welcome to cook, but I can too as I am happy to eat whatever you eat. Apart from luxuries like gin, truffles or whatever, I will buy whatever food is asked for, within reason. There is a gypsy caravan, a normal caravan and a yurt too. All have wood burners that are easy to use with practice. You will have help, don't worry. There is a compost loo but it's a good one, so don't be put off. We have showers, a tin bath etc but, also weekly stay at my mum's pretty seaside cottage to refresh is usually no problem. If you're not used to off the grid lifestyle, you will be ok as long as you're a bit tough and dont mind the odd bee or bug etc :)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Ah, I've mentioned lots about the isle of man above. Beaches close to home. Walks, cycling, natual history, archaeology, rare birds, beautifull scenery. The Isle of Man is a unique independent country, a different culture to UK!
    I have been a host for other volunteer exchange websites, on and off for 10yrs+. I've had about 50 volunteers and have met some fab people from all over the world, laughed a lot, learned a lot and never had a bad volunteer and also met some of the best people ever! We don't really mind if you want quiet or company in your time off. Mostly smokers here but if you don't we will go outside. We have no expectations but good sense of humour is always handy.

    It's been a long winter but Spring is just around the corner and we are looking for more progress in many areas of the Balladareree project. Taking in volunteers from early April onwards.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 546599786878