Help me with garden maintenance, small DIY and dog-walking near Selkirk, Scottish borders, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 170 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    26  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    14.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 7 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am a recently retired headteacher from the Scottish Borders, where I live at present.
    My household comprises of myself and two lively Cocker Spaniels. Sometimes my son visits from Edinburgh where he is studying. I also have a circle of friends with whom I socialise and do different things. I have a partner from further north in Scotland who comes to stay and whom I visit.
    So it ranges from a quiet to lively place, depending on the circumstances.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Gartenarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    By visiting you could meet a variety of interesting people who live and work here and sample some of the culture of the Scottish Borders. There are a lot of historical buildings and small museums which you could visit and the Borders has a strong tradition of ballads and music which can only be discovered over time. The countryside, whilst not so dramatic as the Scottish Highlands, is none the less interesting, green with rolling hills and lots of rivers. It is good walking / cycling countryside and there are a variety of other activities on offer such as mountain biking, archery and swimming to name a few. I go to yoga and drawing classes. None of the Border towns are large and there is no real centre to the Scottish Borders, but they all have their history and places of interest to visit. There is a frequent and regular train service to Edinburgh and buses between the different towns. The coast is just over an hour away.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I have a number of possible projects that mainly centre around development and maintainance of the garden which could range from light work (such as weeding or cutting back) to medium heavy (such as digging or clearing an area). I am also laying a path at present and that requires wheelbarrow loads of sand and gravel to be brought from the top of the garden to the greenhouse area.
    Other possibilities centre around the house, such as spring cleaning, sharing / preparing meals and some small bits of decorating / DIY.
    I am also interested in the possibility of dog walking and later on in the year, dog sitting.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    I live in quite a large Victorian semi-detached house with two spare bedrooms, one en-suite. The en-suite accomodation has a single bed and a walk in shower room, and the other room has a small double bed. There is plenty of space to share (kitchen, living room) and have room to have some personal space as well.
    The house has quite a large garden with small woodland attached.
    I envisage food would be a shared activity, buying, preparing and eating. There are good local shops. I am a vegetarian largely but eat fish. I would not be happy preparing meals with meat and would prefer someone either who has the same type of diet or would be willing to eat in a similar fashion. I grow some of my own vegetables and fruit.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I have been doing workaway exchanges since last summer and was inspired to try my hand at being a host by my partner who regularly hosts travellers. It has been interesting meeting people this way and seeing how work can be done so much more quickly and enjoyably with the help of others. I am interested in the different places that people come from, what their lives are like and what motivates them.
    Because I am still finding my way with this new venture I am cautious about inviting someone for a long period so perhaps a week maximum. I am happy to do a shorter time than this if I can be a 'station on your way'.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 3 hours per day, 5 days a week by agreement

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)


















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 535135498553