Help us give our farmhouse a makeover in Grenderich, Germany



Bisher 26 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

  • Beschreibung


    We are a quiet Dutch couple of 63 (Marlies/Lisa) and 67 (Frans). We don't drink and don't smoke. We are living in an old farmhouse from 1890, that we need to give a make over.

    We are modern, young at heart, very creative, a little introvert, but open minded and social. Although we are still strong, we both are not 100% in shape and sometimes things are to heavy. Thats why we need some helping hands to finish our house. Frans is not able to participate in all he wants, because he has a leg prosthesis and at the end of the day he goes on crutches, without prosthesis. He lost his left leg in an motorcycle accident 25 years ago. But he cooperates as much as possible.

    We are making Art (for hobby) and have a little exhibition space. Frans is renovating en decorating guitars and Marlies, is painting glass, stones and makes a lot of other decoration.
    We both speak Dutch, German and English.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The best is, you have a car of yourself, otherwise you are totally depending of us for visiting the beautifull seroundings. Our little village is a bit in the middle of nowhere. There is only 1 bus a day and the train station is within 20 km. If you are a quit type, that need no big exitement or everyday roadtrips, we can pick you up at the station, that's no problem.

    On free times, I (Marlies) like to show you some nice locations (they are sufficient) and show you around in the area if you like. There are a lot of historical things to see, like castles and ruins, beautiful picturesque villages and breathtaking views. I like to take a walk as well, but not more than about 4/5 km.
    We can shop together and you are always welcome to help with the cooking.

    You can be creative with us, there is enough to do. We have many stories to tell, because we both had an very exciting life. But most of all, it must be a relaxed experience to be with us.

  • Arbeit


    We are looking for someone, who can bricklaying (little walls, inside and outside), plastering walls new (not very clean or proper, it's no living area) and painting (the outside wall), doors and doorframes. We need to hang wall paper en more little things inside and outside...

    You see, it's not one Big project and it's not one Big renovation, but most of the tings are dirty work.
    And it's more a lot of little project's that has to be done, but we need some special skills, the will to do it and a little man/woman power. When you have a few skills and a little muscle, you can be very helpfull. Most important is enjoying work and not afraid of dirty hands.

    You work about 3 to max. 5 hours a day, depending on what we are doing and in consultation. The rest of the day is yours (or ours) and free. We work together, but as we are not 100% fit, we can't work that long ourselfs. It's also a little easy come easy go.... and for us... our day ends after 19:00 or 20:00 o' clock. So we all have a little time for ourselfs.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Deutsch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Englisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    You would live in a little, but complete holidayhouse of 55 square meter, wich is a part of the original farm house. Normaly we use the house for family and friends. Smoking IN the house is not permitted.

    There is a bedroom (with 2 seperate beds), a livingroom with a music instalation, a tv, books and games, a fully equipped kitchen (only 1,83 high) and a cozy little Badroom with toilet. Everyting is complete decorated en there's plenty of bed linnen and towels. There is Wifi, a separate small terrace and your own parking place. In the house we have a lot of documentation about sights and events, in the erea. We ourselfs, live in a "new" (25 year old) apartment in the former stables. The houses are connected on the inside, but there are 2 intrence, so you would have a lot of privacy. We are spending all the food and drinks for the day you need (koffie, thee, bread, butter, cheese, milk, marmelade and so on), filling your kitchen and frige. Extra's like candy or special drinks you must buy yourself.

    At work, during the day, we eat together if it comes that way.
    The warm meals (around 17:00 or 18:00 o' clock in consultation) we eat together in our house or outside on our terrace. We eat meat (not a lot, not every day and it is no must) and cook vegetarian als well. The meals (Dutch, Indonisian, Italian and so on) are simple, but nutritious. We have no restaurant, but do our best. When there's to little time to cook, we get our meal, from very good a nearby restaurant (German, Italian and Turkish). You never be hungry.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live in a little village with about 350 inhabitants. There's no highlife, not even a store, but instead of that a lot of silence en beautiful nature around us. It's a quite village with a lot of elderly, so you can not party, turn your radio loud or make a lot of other noise. From our house it's only 50 meters and you are in the middle of nowhere, with wonderfull sights, a lot of feelds and woods with little streams and views. You can even walk to the Moselle (Moezel), that's 4 km through the woods and vineyards.

    In the village is a little barefoot path, with a wood cabin, where you can drink coffee with cake in the weekends. There is a wine farmer, where you can drink and buy a nice Mosel-Wine and a big riding school.

    We live at the edge of the Hunsrück about 2,5 km (bird flight) from the Mosel (Moezel). At the Mosel it's full of life and very touristic in Summer. Within 20 km you have the most beautiful landscapes of the Vulkan-Eifel aswell. On all sides of our village the landscape is divers, fascinating and surprising (but... no highlife). The nearest village with 1 supermarket is about 11 km and a village with more stores is Zell (at the Mosel), about 20 km through the mountains (not to do by bike because of the mountains).

    Bigger cities along the Mosel are Cochem at 20 km. Traben-Trarbach at 30 km. To the south the beautifull city of Trier at 80 km. And in the north Koblenz at 80 km.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 526741718411