Help bring back to full life an old farm in an idyllic riverside setting in Mid Wales

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 57 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    28.10.2019

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    So the dog is much bigger than in the photo now! But still just as lovely. The farm is an old watermill near the Dyfi Estury on the Welsh coastal path 5 miles south of Machynlleth. I have been renovating the farmhouse which sits in the bottom of an open valley next to a beautiful river. The farm has 30 acres, a mix of ancient oak woodland and pasture. We now have a beautiful house and the time has come to nurture the land and trees. We're starting to regenerate the woodland, plant new trees and increase the biodiversity on this beautiful site. The polytunnel is up, beds are being built for some growing this year, irrigation system needs to be designed (any engineers out there?) There are also future plans for the barns and maybe even to restore the water mill one day. The greenhouse is blossoming with seedlings and I'm excited about lots of new things here on the farm this year.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Get to know a beautiful part of Wales with mountains and coast nearby. Help nuture and restore a stunning welsh farm and support a new food growing project promoting local food growing.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    There are jobs of all shapes and sizes both inside the house and on the land. Any carpentry, building or food growing skills would be great, but we might be doing anything from gathering seaweed on the beach to painting and decorating. The farm was in a poor state and there's lots to do to nurture it back to health. Good english speakers please, this is very important.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Italian, French, Spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    barn, caravan, tent, parkup, wild camping in the woods, bed in the house - any of these a possibility depending on who else is staying and what time of year it is. There's indoor and outdoor plumbing! with a gorgeous firebath by the river. Shooting stars and owls while you bathe, not guaranteed but the bath is pretty special, you can plunge in the river to cool off. Good, cosy food and a delightful dog will welcome you and reward your endeavours here!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I have both managed and am a volunteer and know how important it is to feel part of a project. I hope anyone who comes here will have a chance to contribute and feel involved right at the start of this exciting project.

    Though you can't see another house from here it's only 5 mins to the main bus route between Aberystwyth and Machynlleth. It's also possible to walk cross country to Dovey Junction railway station in about 25 mins. Cadair Idris is close, it's 5 miles to Machynlleth and the Centre For Alternative Technology and 15 miles to Aberystwyth. There are many beaches including the stunning Ynys Las just 15 mins drive away. The RSPB wetland nature reserve is walking distance from the farm, there are many of walks from the farm which is situated on the Welsh coastal path

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Kate and Blue




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 525763732393