Altes Schloss in Irland

Country

Irland

aktualisiert  

Bisher 188 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    08.12.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Malcolm and I, along with Ana and Ernie, ( your co hosts) are seeking 2 - 3 people to stay approximately 2/3 weeks with us in early January.

    We are happy to have a couple or individuals, the main thing is that you enjoy being outdoors and have enthusiasm for completing a sustainable tree project.

    The time will be spent working outdoors in a planted wood of Larch and Beech trees all about 8 years in growth. Each January we need to shape and prune these trees so that they take on a suitable shape. You will use loppers and hand saws to do this job and therefore you need some common sense and the ability to do repetitive work, but the work itself is very pleasant, you see the results straight away.

    You will have the joy of working in a beautiful environment in a rural setting but don't worry, the nearest town is only a short bicycle away (approximately 25min) and Ana and Ernie will be delighted to show you around. The work is weather dependant and therefore your 5 hours a day may need to be concentrated to match the weather window, however we would appreciate your help approx 5 hours a day 5 days a week. If you like trees and enjoy being in a natural environment, appreciate outdoors activities and like sharing your life experiences then this volunteering position is for you.

    The project is located very close to Lough Rea in County Galway. You will have your own cozy room with shared bathroom. Ana and Ernie live at the house and will be your house hosts during your stay. They are a wonderful couple who speak many languages (English, German, Portuguese, Spanish, a bit of Japanese, tiny bit of French) and are amazing musicians (there's a piano in the house), not to mention very special and happy people. Malcolm and I will be around also but work during the week.

    There are also amazing walks around the region as well, and bicycles will be available to use. There's a cat in the house and a couple of hens, a lovely garden to wander as well. Can also teach you how to make your own bread, and play different musical instruments (piano accordion, bodhran, tin whistle, harmonicas, piano, guitar). It is important to say that to go around the area, since there are no buses available, the bicycle would be the main way of transport.

    All food will be provided along with the necessary equipment. You will need to have lots of warm layers and wellington boots or good waterproof boots but we will provide working gloves and all tools. Also keep in mind that the weather in Ireland is quite unpredictable. All necessary instructions/training will be given so all you need to bring is energy, good cheer and enthusiasm to complete this important tree project, a very rewarding job.

    We very much look forward to hearing from you!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are very open and happy to share/exchange about our culture, our experience, our interests, and our knowledge with our visitors....We love meeting people... Ana an Ernie are amazing co hosts and play a variety of instruments and love life.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The help will be part of a tree management project.
    This volunteering position is for out doorsey and hardy types and for those who don't mind being outside if the weather is cool.
    The help isn't very hard work just a bit repetitive but song and music makes it fun. Your reward is contributing to a very important eco project and being among some beautiful surroundings with some great people.... good food too!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, German, Portuguese, Spanish, a bit of Japanese, tiny bit of French

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Own room in a private house. Shared bathroom.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    County Galway is a culturally rich county with beautiful views and the most wonderful landscape. You will be among nature and experience life as it was hundreds of years ago.. West coast.. It is an amazing place with unique opportunities. If you are skilled, adventurous, out doorsey, and enthusiastic you will be really happy you applied for this position.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours per day (max 25hours/week)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 524772947854