Building/gardening/tutoring kids at our family home on the Isle of Wight, UK

Country

Großbritannien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 242 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    07.10.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    238

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 63 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a pretty busy island family who enjoy socialising and spending time with travellers from other countries, learning from them and informing and showing them all about island and England life when we have time to stop, like in the evening or during the weekend. We will treat you as one of the family and will help you feel at home. We used to do home exchanges then progressed to becoming fans of short term rentals, becoming hosts and guests and have now had over 250 guests staying with us from the Americas, Africa, Europe, Asia and Australasia. We have also enjoyed home exchanges in France, Holland, Iceland and the US. Nowadays our days are filled with home educating our boys, carting them to their lessons and clubs, exploring the wildlife, countryside, and history of the island, doing family tree and house history research (Graham) and seeing therapy clients for hypnotherapy and (past life and between life) regression therapy (Ellemiek) and cleaning up, making beds, taking bookings and socialising with travellers staying with us and family and friends from around the world.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will have plenty of time to explore the Isle of Wight - which is frequently visited by people from mainland UK as a chance to unwind and get away from it all. There are plenty of tourist attractions such as Osbourne House, queen Victoria's residence, Carisbrooke Castle where king Charles I of England was imprisoned in the 1600s, a 2,000 year old Roman villa, there is an internationally renowned Botanic Garden near to the house, several secluded beaches nearby and fantastic nature and cliff top walks, places to find unique dinosaur footprints and the island is a fossil mecca, and of course many English pubs some of which are 500 years old where you can relax with locally brewed beer and listen the the nightly entertainment, and places for traditional English afternoon tea, some of which are 500 years old.
    Graham (half English and half Canadian) is passionate about history (he wrote a book about a relative who was a WW2 naval aviation hero), genealogy and plants and animals (he lived and studied monkeys for 2 years in North Africa). Graham is well traveled as he used to be involved in international nature conservation projects. He is now busy doing family tree and house history research and can help you explore your own family tree too. Ellemiek (originally from Holland) enjoys cooking and baking (she used to bake for the local Country Market cooperative in town, producing cakes, cookies, savories and jams and is happy to teach you how to make these) and is passionate about her therapy work (ask her for a session if you are interested). We home educate our boys aged 12 and 10 and Roy and Christopher who like computer and board games, animals, drawing, fencing (the 'en garde' kind with a foil, like sword fighting), local history, metal detecting, fossil hunting and archeology. They attend math, science, drama and English clubs and tuition groups and sometimes need a little help with their homework too.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for workawayers who can help with the following:

    Garden maintenance: weeding, pruning, garden restoration.

    Building/general house maintenance: painting inside and outside of the house, installing lights down our drive, repairing wood work and cracked glass windows, rehanging doors so they close properly, cleaning gutters and drains, tidying up area around the house. Some brick work and maybe roof tile replacement.

    Help in the house: help cleaning our rental room (if used), help deep cleaning house, help tame our children's bedrooms, house and pet sitting our 3 cats and gerbils when we go away for a few days.

    Teaching our kids: if you have a particular interest or skill (like history, archeology, geography or badminton) or have travelled a lot, we would love for you to teach our home educated kids too. They are 10 ad 12 and are very independent so we don't need a 'babysitter' as such, more like an older 'brother' or 'sister' who can teach them a particular subject. We have a tradition that we ask our workawayers to teach our kids to make a traditional dish from their country (or their personal specialty) and in return, our kids will cook you one of the dishes that other workawayers have taught them.

    In addition we ask all workawayers to take turns, along with the family, to keep the communal areas clean and tidy. We also ask that you keep your own bedroom clean during your stay with us and that you clean it before you leave.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englsh, Dutch, some French and German and a bit of Spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    If you stay with us over summer you will use a bedroom upstairs with chest of drawers, and have access to shared bathroom. There are no cooking facilities in your bed room but there is fast wifi.

    If you stay with us between October and March, you are likely to be able to stay in our downstairs room that is often used for paying guests during the summer months. This is a large bedroom in our home with tv, sofa, double bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers, kettle and table. You can enjoy badger watching from your bedroom every evening. You will have your own shower room and toilet, adjacent to your room.

    The family kitchen, with washing machine and dryer too, is just across the corridor from the downstairs bedroom. If you are a keen camper and the weather is good, you could also camp in our wild garden.

    We tend to eat breakfast and lunch as and when and not always all at the same time, so it would probably work best if you help yourself to these, either in your room or in the family kitchen (unless we are having a lazy day at home and you want to join us) and you'd be very welcome to join us for family dinner every evening and of course help yourself to snacks (many guests have raved about our cookies, so there are plenty of those around).

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live about 20 minutes walk or a mile (2 km) from the somewhat quirky village of Ventnor (population about 5,000) which has a few small supermarkets, several antique and Thrift (charity) shops for bargain hunting and numerous local cafes and restaurants with international and local cuisine. Museums, theatres, and cinemas are easily accessible, as are opportunities to join local sports clubs or try out sailing, surfing, hang or paragliding etc. You can get around the island by public bus or train, but busses that stop close to us are not that frequent (like once an hour), but we are happy to give you a lift if you want to explore places of the island that we are driving to anyway that day (we go to Newport, the island's capital twice a week , and to the other main towns Cowes and Freshwater most weeks too), or we can pick you up from the bus stop in Ventnor which does have frequent services. There are several beaches in walking distance and fantastic walks too in the immediate area, as well as the round the island coastal path of over 10 km.
    As we are busy and are often 'on the go', workawayers who can be independent and can get on with jobs for a bit by themselves would probably work best. We will help where we can, but we may well not always be around to supervise or help. We look forward to making many more friends from around the world and getting stuff done around the house at the same time.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Lana workawayer volunteer from Belgium helping to redecorate and apint our conservatory
Learning all about the origin of Cocoa and making of chocolate in Ecuador and how it helps protect the Spider monkey in South America, with our Workaway volunteer and expert zookeeper Franck.
Sword fencing, biodiversity and monkey expert workawayer from France helping to restore our 150 year old house and garden
Kate Canadian workawayer tackling our stubborn brambles and treee roots
French workawayer Marc earlier this year helping to maintain our Victorian garden
French workawayers and our family together rebuilding an old dry stone wall by our house this year
Beach combing on one of the Isle of Wight's many beaches
Your bedroom if not used for guests, It has a TV with DVD player and kettle and patio doors to the terrace where you can watch the badgers every night.
Graham and the boys on the Salt Lake during the Land Speed Record races in 2014
Us during a house exchange in Utah
Ellemiek and the kids having dinner with family overlooking the Needles (touristic attraction on the island).
View from our apple orchard of our balcony
This is a little fishing hamlet about 10 minutes walk down from our house.
Steve the badger who comes to eat in our garden every night, sometimes he brings his wife and kids too :-)








Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 524661769585