Reconnect with nature on our peaceful off grid homestead in the Annapolis Valley of Nova Scotia, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 26 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    18.11.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    *Note: Due to covid-19 and our commitment to following current public health directives, we are only able to welcome volunteers living in the Atlantic provinces, or those who are already in the region and have successfully completed the mandatory 14 day quarantine. Hopefully we'll be able to welcome folks from the rest of the country in the near future. To our international friends, we hope to meet you in the future. ✌*

    We are a holistically and environmentally minded couple in our early 40s, who recently bought a 13 acre off grid homestead, where we are planning to build an earthship style home in the coming years. Mark is a red seal electrician, certified solar installer, reiki master teacher and martial artist. I am a gardener, certified holistic nutrition consultant, certified plant-based cook, professional aromatherapist, reiki master and crafter.

    Until we're ready to start building the earthship, we're working to establish additional vegetable gardens, repairing the existing sheds and cottage, as well as other landscaping and artistic projects.

    Our homestead currently has 2 vegetable beds, apple trees, currants, strawberries, raspberries, blackberries, gooseberries, haskap berries, etc. We also have a small frog pond and 10 acres of woods with established walking trails. We have simple compost toilets inside for night time use, and there is an outhouse and private gravity fed shower near our cottage and camper. We collect our wash water from the roof of one of the sheds and our electricity comes from a combination of solar and wind energy. It's a beautiful, peace-filled space, full of wild flowers, birds, bees, etc.

    This is a gentle and safe space for anyone who visits, no matter their race, religion, sexual preference, etc. Our ideal visitors would share this attitude and help us to keep this space happy, healthy and peaceful.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Kunstprojekte

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Visitors will learn what it's like to live an off grid and low waste lifestyle. They may also learn more about gardening, preserving the harvest, wild fermentation, solar and wind energy, earthships, holistic health, cooking, local food and living in tune with nature.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    There are many areas where we could use help, so the projects we tackle together will be highly dependant on who comes to visit. The following are some of the projects we would like to tackle this summer:

    Garden: There is always weeding and planting ongoing. We also need to move our blueberry and currant bushes, as well as preparing additional garden beds for more vegetables.

    Cottage & out buildings: All need some general maintenance. We'd love to give the outbuildings a fresh coat of paint and perhaps have a mural or two added.

    Other: We need to plant a line of trees along one side of our field. The walking trails need to be tidied about once a month. There is always wood to stack.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a 16 foot long, 1975 camper tucked away in the backyard of our cottage that can comfortably accommodate 2 adults or a family with small children. (If you are coming alone, don't worry! We won't put you in there with a stranger. You'll have the space to yourself.) Like the rest of the property, it is completely off grid, but has a double bed with 2 small bunks overhead, a propane stove/oven, simple compost toilet, table and seating area. (Seating area folds down into an additional bed.) There is no running water, heater or electricity, but we keep the camper equipped with plenty of warm blankets, simple solar lights, washing and drinking water, (We get our drinking water from a local and tested spring.) and you are welcome to charge your phones/laptop/ebooks in the cottage during the day. We have an outdoor, yet very private gravity fed shower and pit toilet on site.

    As for food, we will equip the camper with a variety of simple breakfast and snack foods and ask that you fend for yourself at the beginning of the day. You are invited to join us for lunch and supper each day you are with us. If you wish to have private lunches and suppers at any time, or specific specialty foods, we ask that you provide them for yourselves, though you are always welcome to help yourself to the many veggies that we grow on site.

    Though I am a plant-based cook, we are not vegan. Vegans, vegetarians and omnivores are all welcome and accommodated here...and none are judged. We are passionate locavores and grow a large percentage of our own food from April-November.

    We are located a 10 minute drive from the nearest village, so having a vehicle would be very useful. But if you're wishing to completely immerse yourself at our homestead, we'd be happy to bring you into town with us once or twice a week and make sure that you get to see a bit of the surrounding area.

    While our homestead typically has great reception for cell phones, we do not have an internet connection. There are a couple of libraries & cafes in the area, with free wifi. It's what we use and you're welcome to tag along!

    Please note, while our homestead tends to be a relaxed place, we will not tolerate any racist or discriminatory talk, rowdy/drunken behaviour or excessive noise. We are respectful of the quiet serenity enjoyed by ourselves, our neighbors and the wildlife we share this space with. 4/20 friendly, but again, not in excess and once the days work is completed. We also ask that you keep the camper in good shape and as clean as you found it.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are located in the Annapolis Valley of Nova Scotia, which is a hub for local food in the province. There are plenty of markets to explore and an abundance of wineries, breweries and pubs/restaurants.

    We are extremely close the Fundy shore, Hall's Harbour, the Cape Split hiking trail, Blomidon Provincial Park and numerous waterfalls & trail systems.

    If you're looking to explore a little further, we're within a 2 hour drive of the city of Halifax, the south shore, Digby and multiple other regions.

    And of course, our homestead lends itself to quiet relaxation and is a great place to enjoy some time away from the bustle of modern life.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Our front yard has space for a camper or van. However, there is no hook up for power, water or septic because we are completely off grid. We also wouldn't be comfortable with someone running a generator for more than a little while, once per day. This is a pretty quiet spot!

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    We're willing to have guests bring their dog, but only if you're certain they wouldn't do damage to the camper and they aren't big barkers.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. We're quite flexible on when the hours are worked and will discuss options before you arrive.

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 523697112559