Help with our new home on a wonderful piece of land near Berlin, Germany

Country

Deutschland

aktualisiert  

Bisher 50 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    01.07.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a couple living in a small town in East Germany, 80 km southwest of Berlin.

    2019, we moved to an old house, together with a huge piece of land. This place is the fulfilment of our dreams, with lots of space and silence. The house and all the barns need quite some fixing, and at different seasons, we have lots of fruit: blackberries, peaches, apples, walnuts etc. But we try to take it easy and want to enjoy the place as much as possible - next to all the work.

    I think I can say we are both open-minded, friendly people, we are happy to have guests, but we also love to have quiet times for ourselves. We are both freelancers and regularly working in Berlin (one at the TV and the other doing improvisation theatre), so there will be days when only one of us is at home or you will even be on your own. So spending time on your own should not be a problem to you.

    Next to the two of us, there is an old tenant living in our house, upstairs. He´s not very communicative...we secretly call him "Grumpy".. he has lived here for 25 years, and somehow we simply couldn´t throw him out of the house when we bought it. So he´s living upstairs and we are getting on more or less okay, even though he´s not very enthusiastic about us, and he doesn´t like strangers either. And even though we have lived in this area for decades, in his eyes, we are still the "invaders from west Germany". In that way, he is a typical "old man from Brandenburg" ;-) But I like him anyway, somehow.

    Recently, a woman has partly moved here with her lovely tiny house on wheels. So our little community is growing..

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hard to say. Having bought this house and piece of land, I am going to fulfil a very old and huge dream and I am really happy that I have not let go of that dream. So I can offer motivating you to not let go of your deapest dreams..
    You can learn what life in the east-german countryside can look like. Older people who have lived in different political systems can surely tell lots of interesting stories. Then there is a huge alternative scene here, many people who have moved to the countryside to live a simpler way of life - I think that is special here.
    If you like to sing and or are a spiritually intersted person: every morning, we have a meditative meeting in the garden with friends. We sing spiritual songs from different traditions, read texts or sit in silence. We started doing this Easter 2020, and since then meet every morning. It is a beautiful start into the day.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Our place feels like a huge playground with lots of things to do. When you are here, we will either invite you to join in an activity that might be urgent, or, if nothing is really urgent, you can do any to-do-thing that attracts you.

    In june/july 2020, we want to build a reed bed for wastewater treatment. For that, we have to dig about 100 metres of ditches.

    Further, we want to renovate one room in the house which will probably be our future guest room. So there is some painting work to do.

    We might try to fix the old caravan in order to make it cosy for guests as well.

    In the house, I want to clean the cellar from decades of dust and create a simulated nature cellar for storing fruit, keep the mice from entering through the windows, build some shelves and some wooden boxes to store vegetables such as potatoes during wintertime.

    In the house, there are lots of doors that are a bit stuck and could be fixed, and many old window frames that could be renovated.

    Step by step, we want to empty and clean some spaces such as the big barn, which are filled with lots of things we don´t need (and a lot of it cannot really be reused). So we can always do some trips to the local waste management authorities to drop old wood, metal, old tires, rubbish etc. Other things we take pictures of and offer them on ebay, so they are not wasted.

    For nature lovers, there is lots of possible activities in the garden, such as building tree houses, clearing blackberry plants, cutting wood (we had lots of trees either dead from the dry last summer or from the recent storms), creating herb beds etc.. During july, august, september and october, we have lots of fruit to process: apples, blackberries, peaches, cherries, quince, walnuts. So if you like to make jam or apple puree, or other jummie things, that´s wonderful!

    If you feel like going shopping or preparing food, that´s lovely, too.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    German: Fließend
    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend
    Dutch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    This is still kind of improvised: you can either sleep in our future guest room upstairs - which still has to be renovated.
    It also means your way to the bathroom (which is downstairs) is a bit of a distance.

    Also, you would share the upstairs corridor with our "Grumpy", our tenant who is also living upstairs. He is a man in his seventies, who has lived here all the time and who doesn't like to have too much social contact. So he might not greet you when you meet him. I think he is a bit afraid of "strangers", he doesn´t speak English etc.. So you should be a person who doesn´t take an old grumpy guy too serious or personal ;-)

    During summertime, an option might be preparing an old caravan for you, which needs quite some preparations. Or we can offer you a tent with a cosy mattress.

    So accomodation will be a bit adventurous, but we will be working on making the place cosy for you.

    Food - one us us is vegetarian who insists on organic food, the other one is a meat eater who eats almost everything.
    Mostly we cook vegetarian, and sometimes my boyfriend will make some meat.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our place is quite big, 3 hectares of nature, and it offers a wonderful view into the landscape. You can go for nice hikes through the forests or just hang in a hammock and enjoy the silence.
    Bad Belzig is a small town with about 10000 inhabitants. Not much happening, but there is an old castle and for those who like spa experience, there is a thermal bath with hot pools and sauna´s.

    Further, there are some interesting alternative projects around. Also, one of our friends is a regular workaway host, so we might meet with them sometimes, doing some bigger works altogether or barbequeing.

    Our house is very close at the railway station - 5 minutes to walk. The hourly trains will take you to Berlin main station in exactly 60 minutes. Also Potsdam and Dessau are interesting towns reachable within less than an hour. We both have a subcription ticket for this area plus Berlin, which in the weekends you could use for free to take rides into Berlin or Potsdam.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 522892446484