Hilf uns, die Strassenkatzen von Sant Pere de Ribes bei Sitges in Katalonien zu helfen, Spanien

Country

Spanien

Bisher 376 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    67  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    19.09.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Over the past number of years my husband and I have rescued several street cats in Spain. We have given a home to a number of cats that have come to us, we found on the street or were given to us by people who could not take care for them themselves. We also adopted 3 rescue dogs and a rescue sheep. In addition to our own pets we have also become a foster home for a local charity. We foster their street kittens, socializing them with people, cats and dogs to prepare them for new lives as pets. This involves a huge amount of patience, love and cuddles.

    As we are totally self funded we need help with the day to day chores to provide our rescues and fosters with a healthy and happy home. Our ethos is to try and give these cats a better life, even if they will not have a long life. We don´t cage our pets and a lot of them choose to share our home.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We were both born in Ireland and have still have family living there. We originally lived in the South of Spain and have worked there and in Gibraltar. We love to pass on our knowledge, all that we have learned over the many years we have been helping street cats. We have stories of how they came to be with us, information on common illnesses and general tips on how they differ from domestic cats. It is always a pleasure for us to meet workawayers who are interested to know and learn more and we will do our best to teach them something new.

    We love to hear about differnt countries and ways of life, we enjoy the diversity and for us, as we do not get to travel very often due to our animals, it is like visiting a new country when we hear all about the home country and town of the workawayers, the places they have traveled to and the experiences they have had.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Our days revolve around our animals. When we are not at our day jobs we are playing, interacting and tending to our pets and foster kittens. Volunteers should have previous experience with pets and enjoy sharing a home with animals. Daily chores involve cleaning inside house, pet areas and utensils and our own general living areas.

    The help required consists of 2-3 hours cleaning kitchen, living room, bathroom, common areas, litter trays, floors, animal feeding dishes, bedding and outside areas, dog walking and then the other hours are for spending time with the animals and helping socialize kittens. They will need to know how to handle, care and be willing to live with large numbers of pets. You will spend most of your day helping cleaning up after animals,

    All our pets are rescues from the streets and some are under long term medical care. Volunteers need to be confident handling and dealing with animals, they need to be able to cope with illness in animals (minor and major) and help us with medication, treatment and care of sick animals, if needed (keep in mind these are not all tame cats). They should also be prepared to deal with the worst as not all illnesses in street cats are curable.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Our home is in a very quiet urbanization situated on the outskirts of a small town just on the border between Barcelona and Tarragona. The town itself is approx 55 minutes train ride from Barcelona City. Workaways will have their own small single room. They have access to wifi.

    Volunteers prepare their own breakfast and lunch using ingredients provided. When we are home in the evenings volunteers can choose to share our evening meal with us (vegetarian) or they can cook for them selves using local vegetarian ingredients we provided.

    We can accommodate up to 2 workawayers at a time and the chores are divided between the 2. Only 1 workaway can have their days off at a time. The workawayer who is not on days off needs to complete all the tasks on those days. Therefore, it might not suit couples or friends. From time to time we may need to be away overnight, in this situation the 2 workawayers will need to cover the hours between them.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We need an experienced animal loving volunteer to come and stay with us in our home and help us with our daily chores and caring for our animals. This would involve a maximum of 4- 5 hours work per day, 5 days a week. Chores include feeding pets, daily cleaning of house and animals areas, changing and washing litter trays, food bowls, carry boxes and bedding, sweeping and mopping floors, general house cleaning, keeping outdoor areas clean, assist with vet visits and helping with treatment and medication if needed. Also dog walking and kitten socializing. You need to be able to live in a house that has several animals living with you, wanting to sit on your lap and interact with you. There is a lot of manual cleaning involved in the everyday chores.

    There is train service from the local town (5 kms away) direct to Barcelona city and there is a bus and train link from Barcelona Airport and a train link from Reus Airport. The nearest beach is about 5 kms from the house. Workawayers will have access to a bicycle to use to get in and out of the local town. There is also a bus service (weekday only) 2 kms from the house to the local train station and town.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week








































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 522885994658