Help a pensioner ladies with their loved animals and small rural property in the Murraylands of South Australia

Country

Australien

Bisher 205 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    10.10.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    82

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Due to health issues my requirements have change. My husband has now moved into permanent care I have a 30 acre hobby farm. We have horses, a friendly German Shepherd dog, budgerigars and many cats, chickens,
    We are in the Murraylands of South Australia, 100km NE of Adelaide and 85 kms Murray Bridge. Mannum on the River Murray is 45kms We hae Wi-fi access.

    Before my retirement I worked in the Education Department as a Finance Officer. For 20 years I was a Girl Guide leader and enjoyed taking the girls hiking, camping and teaching bush craft and finding bush-food. I also took electives in the local school for orienteering, setting challenging courses in the Conservation Park opposite our door. My husband was a volunteer park ranger for many years as well as playing lawn bowls. Some of our animals are rescues, they have been saved from intolerable situations and have responded well to the love and attention we give them. We have raised many orphan kangaroos over the years.

    Our many animals include Arabian horses, a German Shepherd dogs, cats. chickens. milking goats.
    We have had helpers for about 5 years now and many staying from 3 weeks to 8 months. Currently I have a single father with a 12 yo daughter helping out but still need help occassionally for the bigger jobs. References are available

    We like volunteers who are real animal lovers, enjoy the out doors and willing to tackle new things. Life is never boring lots of fun. Would like that helpers are willing to stay minimum of 2 weeks.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Altenpflege
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    To appreciate the distance between towns in Australia, we travel fortnightly to a large rural centre for shopping, When needed we use a smaller centre 45km away.
    We are opposite a National Park with kangaroos, wombats, echnidas and sometimes emus, a great place to explore in the evenings. Many lovely walking areas, outstanding sunsets .Walking in the national park opposite our gate, you will come across kangaroos, echidnas, wombats and sometimes emus. There are numerous birds to observe..
    We use the aboriginal way to telling the weather, the ants and kookaburras let us know when it is going to rain.
    When in season use bush tucker in our salads, and making stinging nettle soup. Fresh stinging nettles taste like spinach but a lot more healthier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would appreciate help with feedings the animals, some gardening and outside maintence, as well as some housework Just like to have people here when we need a extra hand.


    to have solid shoes for safety sake.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation is provide in the house old but comfortable. We supply 3 meals per day, helpers need to supply their own extra dietary needs, snacks, e.g. FRUIT, chips, soft drinks. A sleeping bag would be desirable.

    If you wish we have an area suitable for caravan/van/tent with electricity and water if you wish to be independent.
    We supply breakfast, lunch and evening meal. Any extra dietary needs like vegetarian or If you require snacks you need to bring your own.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are in an rural area so must be prepared for the peace and quiet. In the evenings and inclement weather we spend a lot of time in living room watching TV or DVD's,


    We go fortnightly shop in Murray Bridge 90km away and the off week we go to Mannum both are on the River Murray
    The Cambrai Library is 8km away and they supply books, DVD's and have wifi.

    Previous helpers have enjoyed the peace and quiet and appreciate the chance to just chill out after continuous travelling and able to do their own thing - read, draw, photography, walking/exercising, Riding if experience, grooming horses and playing with the cats.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week, 2 hours day week-ends feeding animals only.

We have glorious sunsets and spectacular when we can catch a horse in the photo.






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 522657483296