Help on a homestead in Redway, Humboldt county, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 276 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    23.09.2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am a retired record producer who produced 150 recordings for families and children. I have lived on this land for over forty years. Part of the charm of living here are the many people who have spent time here including WAers, couch surfers, old and new friends alike. Many of the people who come to work on the land are from other parts of the country or world, and many have aspirations of having land of their own one day.

    The property is 40 acres adjoining an old growth redwood forest.We are approx. 11 miles from the ocean as the crow flies, and it is a beautiful stretch of wild coastline with 60 miles of wilderness hiking with no roads. A thriving olive orchard is majestically placed upon a scenic knoll where we also grow other fruits, vegetables, and flowers.
    If you are lucky you may experience seeing black bears, fox, deer, peregrine falcons, and bobcats living in this area surrounded by redwood forests and meandering rivers. Don't forget to say hello to our cat, Lynx. He is very friendly and loves to be petted.

    Living a healthy lifestyle is encouraged, including partaking in the occasional steam in our outdoor sauna, or hike down to the creek. Smoking is only permitted outdoors.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Music, philosophy, gardening, herbal medicine, nature studies, mycology, and small town community interaction. On Fridays we have Shabbat together, and share amazing meals and conversation.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    There are generally from one to six people of various nationalities living on the land and helping at any given time. Currently Daniela and Jeanine are living in the cabin, and will be helping out around the property while you're here.
    We are looking for 2-3 people for the spring to help in the vegetable gardens and with the chickens.
    We are also looking for another individual or couple to camp at our campsite this summer to keep an eye on the family garden, and help fix up the area. If you have a mobile home situation, and are passionate about gardening and growing food, send us a message!

    There are a few primary operations with which we could use help:
    -The vegetable gardens are in the middle of coming back to life, and are in need of some help. A lot of invasive species removal and reusing old building materials in creative ways.
    -We are building a chicken coop and integrating chickens into our systems this April. Anyone with carpentry and construction experience is welcome.
    -Then there is our hilltop olive orchard, where we are in our beginning phases of going beyond organic by implementing regenerative agriculture practices. Depending on the time of the season, we could be managing seedlings, brewing various compost teas, pruning trees, and laying compost/mulch.

    There is our homestead, where we all live and share space. We aim to grow our own vegetables, bake frequently, and take a DIY approach to most everything. We are also making an effort to reduce our household waste and overall environmental impact. There are various chores to perform including sprouting seeds, planting starts, composting, preparing/digging beds, harvesting the crops, and of course, making and sharing in organic communal meals. If you have a penchant for experimenting with canning, food preservation, and other forms of culinary experimentation, you're welcome here! We expect people to keep spaces clean and contribute willingly, and self-direction is a big plus!

    Opportunities abound for learning about organic farming and maintenance. Additionally, there are light building projects and other miscellaneous tasks related to maintaining any functional farm.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodations can vary depending on availability over the course of our season. There is a 20' cedar yurt, furnished rooms in the music studio, and a campsite with kitchen.
    There are outhouses throughout the property as well as a spacious outdoor shower that utilizes a solar water heater.

    Food is mostly vegetarian with occasional seafood. We will purchase food for the house, and depending on how many people are here at any given time, you will prepare all your own food, or we will have one communal meal a day.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Time off includes seeing and camping in some of the world's most beautiful nature. Redwood forests, wild "lost" coast on the Pacific. There are occasional organized trips into town for farmer's markets, festivals/gatherings, or shows. We live a relatively simple life, lots of live music and philosophical discussions, and tolerant of various spiritual practices.

    Daniela and Jeanine are a couple living here in the cabin, and will be helping out around the property. Daniela is working in the gardens, and Jeanine is building the chicken coop. They are happy to take you on a tour of the property, or on a mushroom and herb walk anytime!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.3)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.7)

Kommunikation: (4.7)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 518353926111