aktualisiert  

Enjoy a slow-life retreat and help around the house in Tsumagoi, rural Japan

  • Bisher 129 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 13 Juni 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello Workway people.

    This is going to be an unusual listing because... it's actually all about washing dishes. But more on that later!

    First, the short version:

    We are a quirky, unconventional international couple (+2 international? cats) that - after many varied life experiences - decided to buy a large house and move to rural Japan. We own a few businesses, are focused on personal development, and have everything we want out here except for good company: pleasant, communicative, respectful, curious, and open-minded people also interested in personal growth… who can help with the dishes! (see, it's really about the dishes).

    Now for the longer version. Please read in detail since the details are important. If it feels like we are trying to put you off or scare you away… that’s because we are! Your time is valuable, so we want to make sure that this is a good fit. It would be awful to fly halfway around the world only to find yourself in a situation that you don’t like!

    More about us


    As mentioned above, our focus in life is personal development. We’ve been through a lot and are complex people with complex backgrounds.

    Akiko was an internationally performing classical musician. How did she end up in the woods? Alex was a high school drop-out. How did he end up running several businesses and becoming a life & relationship coach?

    Our journeys have been filled with growth, challenges, unexpected turns, and the pursuit of self-understanding - leaving us with little tolerance for superficial interactions.

    We thrive on open-mindedness and enjoy delving into discussions on a wide range of topics, even those considered personal or taboo by some. We enjoy interesting, challenging, deep conversations that help us understand ourselves and the world around us better.

    It’s not all about talking, however. We also do our best to put what we learn into practice by living a deliberate, healthy lifestyle. We exercise regularly in creative ways (hikes, yardwork, animal flow practice, yoga, etc), eat healthy homecooked meals, keep a regular sleeping schedule, practice mindfulness as part of our daily life, and minimize unneeded stress. At this point, we probably spend more time petting our cats than we do “working”. In fact, the only that consistently stresses us out is.. dishes.

    This lifestyle isn't for everyone and might seem like heaven - or hell - depending on who you are. Heaven? Keep reading.

    House Rules

    Absolutely no smoking, whether inside or outside. If you smoke at all, this isn’t the place for you, as we can’t stand the smell even on people’s clothes.

    No guests. This is our house, so please do not feel free to invite strangers (to us) to it.

    Quiet hours. We really like peace and quiet, especially in our house, so we ask our guests to keep things very quiet between the hours of 8:00pm and 8:00am. That means walking quietly, closing doors gently, and a few other things.

    There will likely be unexpected situations that come up where we ask you to do (or, more likely, not do) something. If that makes sense to you, it’s all good. If you are the kind of person who thinks they should behave however they want at someone else’s house, this won’t be a good fit.

    Oh yeah… Akiko’s pretty picky about how the dishes are done :)

    Type of Person

    If you are a ‘party’ person who loves drinking, this probably isn’t a good fit.

    If you are just looking for a place to crash, do your work, and don’t really want to interact with people around you, there are better places for you than this one.

    If you tend to complain a lot, are easily offended, or have a generally negative attitude towards people, we aren’t the right place for you.

    If you are very rigid in your opinions or beliefs, it won't work out.

    If you hate doing dishes… yeah, you know what I’m going to say.

    ALSO! Because we provide a homestay service to middle and h.s. students, often girls, we are not currently hosting guys. I do apologize as it’s not fair - but that’s how it is.

    Scheduling

    We don’t celebrate many holidays, so if you find yourself wanting to travel during something that would normally be considered weird, just go for it - we may be available.

    We don’t like to commit to things long in advance, so please don’t reach out to schedule something months and months in advance. Closer to the date is better, though if you reach out about something tomorrow, we likely won’t be able to accommodate that either.

    Screening

    Yes, we have a screening process! This is just as much for you as it is for us, as “chemistry” is pretty important when you are planning to live with someone - even if for just a few weeks!

    Sometimes things seem great on paper but don’t work in real life, so if it seems like we might be a good fit after the initial email exchanges, we’ll ask you to hop on a quick video call with us.

    Don’t take it personally if you don’t pass our screening - we might not pass yours! I’ve interviewed hundreds of people for my business, and am pretty good at screening for personality conflicts. If you don’t like us.. you’ve just saved yourself a trip!

    What to write to us:

    Ok, so after all this, you still want to visit? Great.

    Some people don’t know what to write, so here are some questions that help get you started:

    What about our profile resonated with you? What do you want to learn? What do you like about the environment we have? What do you hope to get out of your stay here? What skills do you want to bring, or do you want to learn while you are here?

    Most importantly.. how do you feel about doing dishes??

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    One thing you won't learn is any Japanese or Japanese culture :)

    We are basically an American house in rural japan. If you are interested in personal development, business, mental health, psychology, or fitness, and want to experience the 'slow life', this might be the place for you to stop by.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    As mentioned above, we don't need that much help. We will ask you to help with cooking (if you want to eat), a little bit of cleaning around the house.. and dishes. We both hate doing dishes!

    Aside from that, the house we bought is a bit old and needs some repair. If you have experience with DIY and desire to help, we would welcome it, but it's totally optional.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Japanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Russisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a pretty big house that's a work in progress, so depending on when you come here you might stay in either:

    a) the furnished room on the first floor of our main house. Has a semi-double bed, desk, etc. Mostly reserved for people who we know very well and paid guests for our English immersion program.

    b) a small, separate guest house out back. This place is a work in progress but has it's own bathroom, shower, kitchen, etc. Won't be available for bit.

    c) an absolutely huge, 33jo activity room covered with tatami. This room is in a separate 'wing' of the house and comes with its own bathroom. 33jo (tatami) is ~50 square meters, or 575 square feet, so you'll have waaay too much space, mostly to yourself.

    We like things peaceful, so there won't be too many people around, but there might be a time that you have to share one of the large spaces with one of our other guests for a day or two.

    Please keep your expectations low and you'll be pleasantly surprised.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Let's be honest - this area is *boring*. If you are looking for the excitement of the big city, you won't find it here.

    If you are willing to walk, however, you can find some cute cafes, a ramen shop, a jewelry maker, and other hidden gems.

    There is also an inexpensive (~800 yen!) but good-quality onsen in a nice hotel less than 10 minutes walk away.

    If you want more, you'll have to drive or have us drop you off at the local bus stop that has buses that run between the famous Kusatsu Onsen, and then go all the way to Tokyo or Yokohama.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 497471418769

Feedback (2)


Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)




Help take care of our property while living in close contact with nature on an art island in Kagawa, Japan
Help with self sufficiency farm and DIY renovation house in Kimotsuki Town, Japan