Help a bi-lingual family with their sustainable cafe in Luang Prabang, Laos

Country

Laos

Bisher 48 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    29.07.2020

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi There!
    My name is Hayley, I'm an Australian who has been living in SE Asia for 7+ years. Recently I helped a friend in Luang Prabang, Laos to open a sustainable cafe with his family. Our aim is to feature locally sourced fresh ingredients on a seasonal menu for health conscious travellers and locals alike. Currently our menu features smoothie bowls, raw vegan desserts, brunch toasts and daily changing local specials.
    Being that we are a start up family business our operation is small, as is our budget. We decorate our interior & exterior with up-cycled items and locally grown flora. Our hope is to create our own small vegetable gardens onsite and at our home that we can use in our cafe.
    As the cafe does not currently generate much income, we both still have other jobs meaning we need extra help around the cafe when one of us needs to travel for work.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Sprachpraxis
    Kunstprojekte

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Khammy (the business owner) is a local Lao man who has been living in Luang Prabang for 13 years. He works as a tour guide and loves to share information about local culture and history, he can happily show you around town or give you the necessary information if you prefer to explore on your own. Khammy's wife Tu, who is also our Chef, is a wonderful cook and can teach you how to cook authentic Lao cuisine. She is also an active member of the local village temple so she and Khammy can share their knowledge of Buddhism and invite you to join in their practice of giving alms and other events. Their two children, Ton & Milk, are both learning English and love to learn more with foreigners. We welcome you into our home to share meals with us, learn about our religion and enjoy the local culture of this UNESCO heritage listed town.
    I work as a yoga instructor and reiki practitioner so if you are interested in exploring spirituality I am happy to share with you.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for anyone who can offer help to build our garden and advise on the proper care (as neither of us have much of green thumb), as well as some shopping duties. General cleaning duties and light maintenance work will also be required at times.
    What we really need is a fluent English speaker who can interact with our customers when either myself or Khammy are away, making them feel welcome and part of the family. Our clientele is a mix of international backpackers, high end tourists and expat locals.
    We would also like you to spend some time talking English with Khammy and Tou's children.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Lao: Fließend
    Thai: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will be living in our "room for rent" house. You will have a private room with your own bathroom. Depending on stay duration we can assist with internet.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    When Khammy and I are both at the cafe you will be required for some small jobs but also given a lot of free time to explore Luang Prabang or other provinces in Laos.
    For transport we can do airport pick ups/drop offs. Walking in LP is easy as the town is quite small. While we do have scooters we generally need them ourselves as we do a lot of running around for the cafe. We are open to discussion if you would like to borrow one of our bikes to take a trip to outside of town however if we can not provide you with one of our bikes we will advise you on the best way to get around.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 483731574154