aktualisiert  

Looking for Campers to volunteer and enjoy nature´s best in Portland, Jamaica

  • Jamaika
  • Bisher 86 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 30.01.2023

Verfügbarkeit

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hey everyone, we are Kim and Collin and we live in the beautiful Jungle Parish of Portland! We live off-grid in the Jungle next to a small river and close to 2 big Waterfalls and a Cave! We are currently building up our business through renting out 2 rooms in our house,which is almost finished. We are working on our living room and building a bigger kitchen. We are also setting up our garden to maintain self grown fruits and veggies. Arround us is pure nature with alot of fruit trees and a banana plantation. So there is also plenty of food arround us that just grows naturally. We often go out and pick fruits in the bush. Next to our house runs a beautiful little river to hang out and freshen up. Collin is jamaican and Kim is original from Germany and we are both 35 years old. We are planing to built up our home step by step and create a community for retreats, accommodation, tours, events and much more.
    Sometimes it can be alot to mantain the 2 hectar garden, guesthouse and marketing and thats why we are looking for you!
    We live with a german shepard named Rebel, which is nothing like a rebel, more sweet and loves the river and picking stones. Our other family member is Tom a little bush cat. Georgi is our duck that comes everyday to hang out and eat but prefers to live on the river infront of the house. All three animals get alone well and hang out together :) its like a little zoo ;)

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will learn about the life we living in a bush community with farmers, rastas and relaxed people. Our community is small but still we have bars and here and there you can get eggs, flour, essentialls, drinks and snacks. We live in the beautiful Jungle surrounded by the sound of nature, water and birds. It is a different and very peaceful living. You will get a glimps of what it means to wake up the the early sun and the sound of nature. The days start early and the sun goes down arround 6 and then you see a sky full of stars almost every night! Our house is across the Rio Grande river and about a 7 min walk through the bush. To get to each side we use our raft and one the other side a little wagon to pull our grocerys and other things. Also you can go to the beaches on the costline by car or taxi easily. There are some deep spots in the river you can jump in and enjoy. You will get a feeling of what it means to wake early mornings to the sun and the sound of pure nature. Living like this will give you the chance to disconnect from the outside for a little bit to reconnect within. It's an amazing way of enjoying and working with nature. You can wake up and take a dip in the water and have a cup of tea or coffee to start the day. Come and see what it does to you :)

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for Volunteers that get free accommodation in a tent and Dinner everyday. Also the fruits that grow seasonly like Jelly, mango, guava, june plum, apple, ackee and much more is also included and you can eat as much as you like :)

    The work that our volunteers would be doing is helping in the garden, helping with the house, help prepair prepfood, help with cleaning in general, maybe help with social media updates and explore more with the food that grows here. Being creative with painting signs and decorating the house together could also be task.
    Since not everyday is the same, we would say that the work daily would be arround 4-5h. Some days less, somedays more, some days off. We go with the flow and make it work together!

    We are an open minded couple who are looking for a responsible and energetic person to help us continue the dream and maintain the house! Open Communication about everything, to be on the same wave and working great together, is very important to us. There is only Solutions for everything.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    We are always open for all kinds of languages and cultures and would love to learn and share ours. Collin speaks fluent english and also Patwa, the language spoken in Jamaica. Kim speaks fluent englisch and german.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a campside in our Yard for volunteers. It comes with a nice tent, a sponge mattress, sheets, pillows, blankets and for rain a trap to keep dry. We also have a nice veranda where everyone can hang out on the couch or chairs. Our kitchen in the house is shared and there is enough space to cook and prepair. We are very good equiped with utensils, a 6 tops stove and oven, dishes, big freezer and fridge! We have an outside shower and bathroom that is for our volunteers. Important things can be locked up in the house in a safe space.
    We like to share our space and welcome everyone to stay with us and become a part of our little community.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    When you dont give us your helping hand and take some time to explore the surrounding, you can chillax at the Waterfalls, take a hike up in the mountains, chill on the small or big river, take a taxi into town and explore there, go to the beaches and explore the beautiful Portland. For us personally, its the most beautiful Parish in Jamaica. It has so much history like Nanny Town or the Maroon Settlement, hidden Waterfalls and also a town to explore and connect with locals. There is litterly everything you need. Grocery store, little shops, restaurants, taxi stand to go in all different directions, a city beach, markets, ice cream shop and a little mall. They also have a Knutsford Express Bus station in town.
    We live arround 20 min from Port Antonio which can be reached by taxi and car easily. Taxis run frequently. Puplic transportion is cheap in jamaica.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have good fibre internet at the house so if someone works online, it´s no problem.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Since we already have our animals we are open to have some visitors too. We would individually have to discuss it and see if it fits :)

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 479791639997

Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Volunteer at an exclusive villa on the north Coast of Jamaica