Help with an organic vegetable garden, around the house and with rescue dogs near Osnabrück, Germany

Country

Deutschland

aktualisiert  

Bisher 337 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    54  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    23.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello
    We are a friendly German/English family living in the north-west of Germany. Living at home are my husband and myself plus one or more other people. There may also be exchange students, visiting travellers, etc.
    We are in the process of starting a (biggish) organic vegetable garden and would also like some help around the house and with our rescue dogs and chickens. There are no young children, so no baby-sitting :-)
    We are vegan and although we are happy to accept anybody we don't want meat in the house. (Dairy is okay.)

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We often have people from different countries staying with us and love to hear about different cultures.
    We are all fluent in English and German. Gabi is learning Dutch and would love some help with that.
    You will hopefully learn how to create a thriving, awesome organic vegetable garden .... or alternatively how to cope when the hares and deer destroy all our efforts...
    You can also learn a lot about dog behaviour and non-violent dog training.
    And then of course there's the vegan cooking. We're no Master Chefs but if you're new to the idea of cooking and baking without animal products we can definitely help.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    At the moment we mainly need help with maintaining the vegetable garden we started in spring 2017, working on our pond and little jobs around the house.
    The dogs want to be walked and we're always happy to get help with housework, especially vegan cooking. We don't need people to be ridiculously skilled at things, just being willing to help will be cool.

    Update January 2021: Spring will soon be on its way and we'll need help in the veg garden, digging, sowing, planting and weeding.
    Also, we have a rescue dog who is fairly traumatized. This means he is very frightened of strangers and barks at them a lot!!! I am not kidding, he will shout at you on a daily basis at first and this can be quite annoying, so be warned!! We want to make him realize that all humans are wonderful (at least the ones who come here), so you have to be prepared to work with us and try and make friends with him. And of course you must always be calm and non-aggressive towards him. Saying that, he is getting a lot better and responds very well to calm anf friendly people who sneak him the odd treat.

    One of our next projects will be a compost toilet in the garden.
    And I'm afraid there are always the boring things going on like cooking, washing up, cleaning floors,...
    If you can bake vegan cakes we will love you :-)

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Single or shared rooms in the house, depending on how many other people are around. (Usually there will be a single room for you.)
    You will eat with us, we will provide 3 vegan meals a day.
    No smoking in the house.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live on the outskirts of a small village with little public transport, but you can borrow our bikes to visit nearby nature reserves or cycle to the station where you can catch the train to Osnabrück (15 min), Bremen (1 h), Hamburg ( 2 ,5 hrs), or Amsterdam (3 hrs). Depending on our working hours we are also happy to give you lifts, although we would like you not to go out too often during Corona times. We obviously have to follow the rules, but they can change quickly, so if you'd like to know exactly what you can and cannot do at any given time just ask.
    Other things we think we should mention:
    Our dogs are mainly friendly but big and hairy. They live with us in the house. Expect to wade through dog hair during molting times :-)
    We have a sense of humor and don't take ourselves too seriously.
    You won't be expected to work outside in shitty weather.
    Times are likely to be flexible, but no more than five hours per day, five days per week max.
    There are usually young people around. We enjoy games, discussions, trips to the cinema, watching movies, bouldering, etc. We also have various instruments (pianos, guitars, flute, accordeon, broken violin,...) which nobody can play particularly well, but we'd love to hear you play them.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Although our internet access isn't great at the moment ( Oct 20)we are in the process of getting glass fiber cables which will hopefully improve things a lot! If you are interested just ask, we might have great internet by the time you read this :-)

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Smallish vans can be parked in front of the house.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.8)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 476926571925