Help to Update a Small Cottage Near the Ocean in Beautiful SW Florida

Country

USA

Bisher 168 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    11.01.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 11 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello to all of you and thank you for reading my listing! My name is Alexandra (Alex). I am a certified English Teacher (degree in English and CELTA) and a brand new Workaway host. I have been a host on other networks, though, recently hosting helpers from Germany, England, Algeria and the USA. I have also been a volunteer, teaching in Thailand, Italy and India. Travel and experiencing other cultures is my passion and I have traveled, volunteered and worked around the world.

    I returned to the US several years ago because my elderly mother needed someone with her. Sadly, she passed away recently. She left me her small home and there is a lot of work needed to update it. I need helpers for one week (possibly more if we're getting on well and we both agree to extending) to help with electrical work (switching out ceiling fixtures/light fixtures) and some exterior painting.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I am a certified English language instructor so if you need practice (or tutoring) with English, I'm more than happy to help with this through daily conversation and/or more formal lessons. Living in America will provide you with the 'total immersion' experience that you need to become (more) fluent.

    I'm a sociable person and we'll take our meals together, sharing conversation, thoughts and experiences. I will treat you like family. Even though I'm older, I am still curious about the world (I consider myself a life-long learner) and I'm interested in your views (and hopefully, you'll be interested in my views, too!). At night, you may want 'alone' time to email your friends and family or watch youtube and that's fine. Or you may want to spend time with me in the living room, watching a video, playing cards or a board game. That's fine, too.

    I can teach you how to cook typical American food, If you're interested. We'll barbecue and we will often have lunch (or dinner) outside on the shaded lenai.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I need helpers for one or two weeks (possibly more if we're getting on well and we both agree to extending) to help with painting a couple bedrooms, replacing two ceiling fans and lighting fixtures, doing some small carpentry projects, etc. I know that many of you are interested in working with children or farming/animals but I don't have that kind of work.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    I offer a private air-conditioned bedroom with semi-private bath (private if you're the only helper), unlimited wifi, free laundry and 3 home-cooked meals a day. I also have a bicycle you can use.

    IMPORTANT: If you're vegan/vegetarian, you'll need to accept the regular meals I prepare minus meat/animal products, or you can buy (and prepare) your own food. I can accommodate halal and kosher (no pork products) as well lactose intolerance but cannot cook/provide for wheat allergies.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I'm fairly close to the beautiful Naples beaches and there is a bus stop just a block from my home that will take you there. Also, where I live is only about a two hour drive to Miami (and I can take you to the bus if you want a weekend trip there). It's also about a four hour drive to Orlando (Disney World). In addition, South Florida is a good location if you're planning travel to the Caribbean islands or Central/South America. Often the airfares are very cheap.

    I'm also close to the Everglades and will take you on a tour (guaranteed alligator sightings!) if you're here for a couple weeks. Like karaoke? Let's go! Ever played bingo? Been to a dog track? There's lots of things we can do for fun and I'd enjoy showing you around when we have time.

    If you have allergies, I should advise that my mother had a small, well-behaved dog that I am still caring for. I do not smoke so no smoking in the house but you're welcome to smoke outside. We might share a beer or two at night but please, no heavy drinkers and absolutely no drugs.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week (flexible)


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 445822785452