Learn about Pantanaeiro culture and improve your skills training horses in Pantanal, Brazil

Country

Brasilien

Bisher 416 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    14.08.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    *********We are looking for volunteers from July to December to help riding our horses and/ or helping to watch our 4 years old child*************
    - for us no problem if you don't speak portuguese
    - if you want to know more about us we can have a videocall

    We run an ecoturism hammock&camping site and ranch located in Pantanal, an wetland area, with incredible nature and wildlife. Now this area is closed due the new virus. So we are focused on farming.

    We take care of the goats, sheep and cows and train our young horses. You will work together with our permanent staff that manages the fazenda, real Pantanal cowboys. 
    At the ranch the permanent staff only speaks Portuguese (basic Portuguese or Spanish would be good but it is a nice place to learn or improve the your language skills).

    I (Olivia) live at the ranch but I am not be able to help you because I stay more at the house since I take care of my child and my mother.

    We are looking for volunteers to train our horses for tours and who want to practice their horsemanship knowledge. We breed lusitano and pantaneiro horses for work with the cattle at the ranch and ecoturism at the lodge. We are looking for help from suitable people to help with feeding, training, handling young horses and breaking in as well.
    Experience in milking cows is appreciated.
    You will need to have experience with horses. We do not have permanent staff on site to take you horse riding if you are beginners.
    - It is important to be aware that the life in the farm starts very early. Usually we wake up and sleeping according the sunlight. If you are a nocturnal person than maybe here it is not a good place for you.
    - The internet usually works but is better not to count always with it. It is a remote area.


    If you like children we would also appreciatte to help us with our kid. She is 5 years old and since we are on a remote area with no other children around it is very nice to have someone else to contact with and play:) We are open for any kind of teaching as music, language, climb trees or just being with !

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    Accommodation and meals are simple and rustic (no air conditioner, no hot shower and no laundry).

    We live surrounded by nature and share our living space with parrots, insects, spiders, frogs and the occasional bat. Maybe you will have to share a bathroom or room with other volunteer. It is your own responsibility to clean your room and bathroom. There is wifi but due to our secluded location, it does not always work. 
    The cook provides a simple meal three times a day (meat, rice, beans, bread, pasta are the main components). Fruit and vegetables are scarce.
    No problem if you are vegetarian . We have received many vegetarians at the farm but than you will be responsable for buiyng/ cooking your own food (if you neede it).

    We find that volunteers at the fazenda are in need of several items:
    - a mosquito net to hang over your bed (we can borrow for you)
    - a mosquito repellent
    - sunblock
    - a flashlight
    - bed sheets/sleeping bag
    - extra jeans and shirts with long sleeves (for the sun, mosquitos and branches during horse riding) are handy
    - laundry detergent (we have no machine)
    - snacks, dried fruits, granola, chocolate, if you want
    - a hat for the sun (chapeu de caranda)
    - boots (botinas) for horseriding. These and other items you can buy cheaply in Mercado Municipal (the nearest big city with airport and bus station).
    And don't forget to bring enough of your personal items (toothpaste, shampoo, etc). Only once every three weeks we do shopping and you can give us a shopping list and money for personal wishes.

    It is wise to check the seasonal weather before coming (and packing) because at times it can be very hot but it can also get quite cold at night.

    How to arrive:

    To get here you can get a bus (from the bus station: andorinha company) or a shared minivan (the minivan departure from the airport, bus station or at the hotel you are. There is just one minivan from 9 to 10 am/per day. We can contact them to book it).

    -Ticket 100 reais/about 5 hours.

    Then it is necessary to get a 4x4 private transfer that charges according water level.

    According the water level (wet season) if this boat transfer is necessary the cost for it is 200 reais. The private transfer take around 1 hour/ about 20 km and the boat about 20km/ 40 min.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️from June to December:
    is the drough season so it not necessary boat transfer

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Please we do not afford this transfers cost. The transfers are paid direct to each driver (on cash). The boat transfer is paid at the ranch (on cash).These costs are for one way.

    So the total cost (one way) is about 500 reais (van or bus+ private transfer) or 700 reais (van or bus+ private transfer+ boat transfer). This is valid for 2021 and can change according transfers availability.


    Volunteers at the fazenda we can guarantee the unique experience of life in a beautiful environment. We hope to host motivated people from different backgrounds and as such enjoy a kind of cultural exchange. 

    For the exchange to be valuable for both sides, we find that it is necessary for the volunteer to stay at least 1 or 2 months. This is because it takes time to get used to daily life at the fazenda and to get to know and be able to learn from each other.
    Due the new virus the first 14 days will be a quarantine period for you. We can talk better about it through the emails
    Sometimes we can give you a free ride but we can guaranty it. It is hard to predict when we will have cars.

    We think of the volunteer program as a friendly relation, a cultural exchange, so we would like to ask you to kindly respect this month minimum. Exceptions have been made in the past but please communicate your intentions honestly and inform us if there are any problems. Together we can think of a solution.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Please keep in mind you will be an remote place and at the ranch and at the lodge.

    We look forward to see you!

    Kind regards,
    Joao e Olivia

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Seniorenbetreuung
    Unterrichten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Improving skills training horses. Learn about pantanaeiro culture.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would like help to train horses for guest. It is necessary previous experience.
    Help in baby sitting or teaching for 5 years old kid

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Portugiesisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Room with fan and toilet

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Located in Pantanal, Abobral region, an wetland area, with incredible nature and wildlife.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dieser Gastgeber ist bereit, Reisende mit Haustieren bei sich aufzunehmen.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.3)








Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 439429859645