1 / 4
aktualisiert   Last minute

Besuche unsere schöne Insel und hilf mit in Haus und Garten auf Vancouver Island, BC, Kanada

  • Bisher 851 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 23 Mai 2024



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche



  • Beschreibung


    Love to host people from all over the world! Come and enjoy our beautiful part of Canada
    in the Cowichan Valley on Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada.

    Since my husband (Zsolt) and I are up in our mid 60's, a good fit for us is to take older more mature work-a-ways to come and help us.
    We take volunteers who are 25 years old and older!

    It is recommended that you have your own transportation we are in the country and it is easier for you to get here and for you to explore the area on your own. If you do not have your own car you will have to figure out a way to get to us, we are NOT able to pick you up.

    We take volunteers for SHORT STAYS ONLY, "UP TO TWO WEEKS" (Sunday to Sunday)
    thus giving volunteers a chance to visit and travel to many places as they can experience,
    to learn and explore as many hosts as possible while they are here in Canada,
    giving a true taste of our land and our people.

    We schedule arrivals of work-a-ways on Sunday night,
    thus starting your helping week on a Monday till Friday,
    in order for you to have the weekend off and then leaving on a Sunday.

    We are breeders of the Hovawart dog breed.
    Right now we have 4 female Hovawarts in our breeding program.
    Also have a grooming business in our home.

    Our house gets neglected because we are on the go all the time
    and therefore always needs organizing and cleaning.
    There are many projects on the go that we need help with and are willing to teach you how.

    We are foodies and love to cook, we mostly have our own meat, vegetables, fruit, eggs,
    and produce our own Kefir and Kefir Cheese.
    We love to learn cooking from our guests from around the world.

    If you love dogs, then our dogs love to play and go for walks.

    We live in the country surrounded by trees on a 6-acre Organic homestead, we have 2 houses on our property
    with our son, Julian (45), his wife, and 18-year-old son live in the other house.
    We have 4 dogs and 2 cats that live in our house.
    We have egg laying chickens, in the summer we raise meat chickens.
    Our younger son (37) and his Japanese wife live in a separate apartment in our house, with their Hovawart dog, they both speak Japanese. My husband is Hungarian and I am Slovenian.

    PLEASE NOTE: If you are allergic to dogs, cats, and chickens this is NOT a good placement for you!

    Located in the beautiful Cowichan Valley on Vancouver Island between Victoria and Duncan, B.C., we are 2 km from the historic Kinsol Trestle, great walking, biking, and hiking trails,
    near many provincial parks & beaches.
    Shawnigan Lake is great for swimming, canoeing, fishing, and water skiing.

    Close to the ocean, great hiking trails, pubs, crabbing & shrimping, biking.
    There are many festivals going on in the area all year long.
    In the fall watch the Salmon run and bear watching.

    Since we are in the country you will need to have your own transportation,
    Please Note: If you do not have your own transportation we cannot pick up volunteers,
    please do not ask.

    We are 50 minutes north of Victoria, 20 minutes east of Mill Bay, 20 minutes south of Duncan,
    50 minutes south of Nanaimo, there are buses that come to Shawnigan Lake from Duncan & Mill Bay, however, not all routes operate on Sunday's.
    There are ferries that come from Vancouver to both Nanaimo & Victoria, and there is a ferry from Victoria to Mill Bay,
    We cannot pick up volunteers in the nearby cities,
    therefore you may have to figure out how to come to us closer, there is bus transportation coming to Shawnigan Lake, from the larger centres, but not always on a Sunday.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    *Teach you how to make their own organic Mayonnaise,
    *Teach you how kefir is produced and made into cheese,
    *My husband is a handyman and can teach you about building skills.

    *We have helped many work-a-ways who have needed to retro-fit their mini-van into a camper,
    we love helping in this and we are starting to become quite good at it!
    *You can learn how to make a fire.
    *Learn how to garden
    * Improve your English skills

  • Arbeit


    We are constantly upgrading our homestead.

    From helping around the house to computer tasks to cooking.
    When we have a litter of puppies, we will need help with them and walking the dogs.

    We especially need help in our house to be more organized.
    At the moment our house is really upside down and in need of help getting everything in order!
    A good cleaning inside and out is always needed, for help with the outside, this includes gardening,landscaping, tree removal, wood-cutting, and stacking.

    Please note, we are NOT a big farm that needs a lot of weeding.

    We are renovating our RV (motorhome) and boat.

    For 7 days of room = 5 days of help, 5 hours a day with meals. 12.00 - 5.00
    On your 2 days off you provide your own food and prepare your own meals so that we get 2 days off cooking as well.

    We like to schedule arrivals of work-a-ways on a Sunday, thus starting your helping-week on a Monday till Friday, leaving on a Sunday morning, again for only for up to 2 weeks.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️Please note that if you have any special dietary requirements,
    We will expect you to bring your own supplies, we do however always have lots of vegetables at our meals.
    I am just not good at preparing for special diets.

    ****** We accept volunteers over the age of 25

    **** if you are allergic to dogs, cats or chickens, this is not a good placement for you.

    Internet access available, however, you cannot use our computers sorry, you must bring your own device!
    Moderate drinking is fine, however, we do not tolerate drugs! Smoking outside only (my husband is a smoker and smokes outside).
    Please do not use your phones while working, there is plenty of time before and after.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Japanisch: Fließend
    Slovenian: Gute Kenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Hungarian: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    The bedroom has comfortable beds ( either 2 singles or the singles can be pushed together for couples and a topper installed.

    or you can experience the outdoors you can always pitch a tent or stay in our caravan.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are on Vancouver Island near Shawnigan Lake, the lake is wonderful for swimming, canoeing, boating, water skiing, windsurfing and fishing.
    On the other side of our road runs a river wonderful for a swim and getting your feet wet or do some gold mining!

    There are many hiking trails in the area and we are close to the Trans. Canada Trail near the Kinsol Trestle.
    We are close to the ocean, great whale watching tours in the area or go crabbing or shrimping!

    We are 45 minutes from Victoria, the Capital city of British Columbia, a must to visit with all of its museums, Art galleries, shopping and sightseeing.
    Within a 2 hour drive is Tofino the surfing capital of Canada and
    Mt Washington is the closest skiing mountain.
    Many hiking trails on the island including the famous West Coast Trail.
    Go further up island and explore Desolation Sound with all of its amazing wildlife.
    Come and explore this amazing island!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We highly recommend having your own vehicle, we cannot pick up volunteers

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    5 hours a day for 5 days a week, 12.00 - 5.00, please do not use your internet devices eg. Phone while working, plenty of time before and after!

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 428485134638

Feedback (33)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.6)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.4)

Kommunikation: (4.6)

Experience rural living on Gabriola Island, Canada
French or Spanish speaking help welcome beside town and ocean in Victoria, BC, Canada