Help around my off-grid property on isolated Lasqueti Island, Vancouver, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 71 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    16.01.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 49 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I live on an isolated island off Vancouver Island. Lasqueti Island is a small gulf island, one hour ferry ride from French Creek Marina, near Parksville, BC. There is no electricity so I live off the grid and use mainly solar power. I do have a small generator that I rarely have to use. I collect my fresh water off the roof and pump from a well. I live beside the ocean looking south, in a small home. It is a half hour drive into my place from the ferry and a short walk (2 minutes) on a path into my place. I am surrounded by a beautiful forest that is beside crown land. There is a good swimming beach 5 minute walk away. The beach in front of my place is quite rocky but can work for swimming, too.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Travellers could learn how to live off grid. West coast wild life viewing. Micro gardening experience. Exposure to music and fine art events. Enjoying life in a small rural community.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I would like help with some gardening, packing things into my place, firewood chopping and stacking. There may be things like cleaning windows, staining cedar shakes or cleaning a pathway. I sometimes have small building project and maintenance projects.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    I live in a small house and the volunteer would have a separate guest bedroom. I have an outhouse and pee pots. You would have to be able to deal with that. There is no electricity in the guest cabin. No wi fi. It has a very comfortable queen bed, a small wood stove ,when needed and lots of decks around it. There is a solar shower you can use or heat water on the wood stove to bathe.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I have 2 small kayaks that are available for use. You are able to charge your cell phone in my house. There is minimal electrical power so please don't expect to use electrical devices. I can pick you up and drop you off at the ferry. There is a taxi service but it is expensive. A bike would be helpful for you to get around. It is a half hour walk to the closest public road. People are hitch hiker friendly. If I am going out and in from my place I can give you a lift. By the ferry landing you will find a hotel with bar and minimal food service. Across the street is a small cafe and minimal grocery service. The ferry runs 3 times a day except on Tuesday and Wednesday when the ferry does not run. Good idea to bring a cooler with some food and drink that you like.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 421163657515