We have a stunning little farm setting up a large aquaponic vegetable garden in the beautiful Barossa Valley! Australia

Country

Australien

Bisher 49 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    11.06.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi there. We are David and Stacey! We have a stunning little farm in the beautiful Barossa Valley! We love the outdoors, eating well, playing hockey, and have two happy dogs Cobber and Roxy.

    We have spent time setting up a large aquaponic vegetable garden, and sell fresh vegetables to the Barossa Farmers Market weekly. We would love some help with the gardening.

    We want people who are genuinely interested in sustainable living. This place is about sustainability, if that isn't your thing then you might find it hard - If you prefer bottled water to rainwater, and packaged food to food from the garden, then It might not suit you. We are about 10 minutes from the closest shops in Angaston, and 2 kilometers out of Keyneton, in the very quiet countryside.

    You can go on walks with the dogs around the property or down the dirt driveway. There are pushbikes you can borrow. We have a wood fire, a pottery wheel, some arty gear, a hammock, a waterhole, plenty of wildlife and gorgeous scenery. There are wineries galore to visit. It is about 1.25 hours drive to Adelaide City, the beach, 45 mins to the river or you can catch a train from Gawler.

    David is in charge of the garden and you would mostly work with him, or by yourself, Stacey does the markets and paperwork, but she may have a project on the go. Picking vegetables for us to enjoy, and going to the markets with us always a fun social outing. Then through the week there is always things that need doing. We can be fairly flexible if you would like to travel for the weekends, or work either the morning or the afternoons

    Please be prepared to make a contribution. We think around 20- 25 hours work a week is a fair thing, and sometimes it is hot or wet, but we still expect work to get done - within reason. We would cook you meals 5 days a week or share the cooking, and you can do your own thing or come with us to outings.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This really is a beautiful peaceful landscape, with no busy noise, and a real chance to escape. There is so much to learn about the aquaponic system, and gardening, and we would be happy to show you everything we know. The Farmers Market is an iconic part of the Barossa and to come and join the community is a lovely experience. We eat healthy nutritious meals, and use fantastic local ingredients, our own vegetables, eggs and honey. I make bread and yogurt and we love learning more about food and cooking. We eat vegetarian based meals and we are conscious of where our food comes from.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Some garden work, such as picking, planting, weeding, pruning, spraying (we only spray minimally with natural organic sprays). Caring for the dogs and beehives is always fun and i can show you how we do this. We make our own chutneys/sauces but it is a lot easier with another set of hands, and if your good with a computer that would be a bonus.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have two little rooms upstairs in the shed which is just off the house with a queen bed. There's a rustic style bathroom with a bath you'll have to yourself. The kitchen and TV/lounge are in our little studio/house just off the shed. You really need to be an outdoor person to enjoy this space as we are surrounded by natural beauty.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We have a wine or two on the weekend but we are not heavy drinkers, and expect you to be respectful of our space. We strongly recommend you have a car, as there is no public transport in the area, and to get the full experience the area has to offer. Please feel free to ask any questions of us.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 411129168648