Join our family in the mountains of Virginia, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 181 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    25.01.2022

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    168

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My family is always busy with something...so we could use another pair (or more!) of hands to help us out! We own an 11-acre hobby farm in the mountains of Virginia, with horses, a dog, a garden, an orchard, and a berry patch. It is a beautiful location, only 2 miles from the Appalachian Trail and close to Blacksburg, Virginia (home of Virginia Tech). However, we often seem to be too busy doing projects (like painting, fixing old barns, gardening, and cleaning) to enjoy it!

    We both work at Virginia Tech in Blacksburg, Virginia, in environmental and educational areas. Our children (twins!) are both in 5rd grade and are very active with sports, music, and other activities. We love spending time outdoors and going fishing, hiking, or hunting. Or lounging in the hammock. Our dog could be a professional napper, and our horses excel at eating.

    We would love the opportunity to get to know some Workawayers, and we could be very flexible with what you help with. We want you to tailor your activities to your own skills and interests. Potential projects include cooking, helping in the garden and orchard, repairing fences and barns, lawn care, general maintenance, artistic works, helping with the horses, and about a million other potential projects!

    We would prefer to host Workawayers who are interested in visiting for relatively short time periods, like two weeks or less.

    This would be a great Workaway stop for through-hikers on the Appalachian Trail who want a few days sleeping in a bed, showering, and doing laundry! We have 10-year-old twins, and we welcome families. Contact us, and let's see if we can arrange a stay! We would love the opportunity to share our home with you and get to know you during your visit.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Often, travelers visit cities while exploring new areas. However, experiencing rural life is a completely different view of a culture! Visitors would get to experience an area rich in history and outdoor activities. And my husband and I are a wildlife biologist and fisheries biologist, so you'll get to learn about nature, if you're interested!

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Love to cook? You're in charge of preparing some meals. Good with tools? Your mission might be helping to repair an ailing barn. Green thumb and you can make anything grow? Garden and orchard for you. Artistic? Find inspiration in the beautiful Virginia scenery and create something. As you can tell, we are very flexible and want you to have an enjoyable experience that fits your interests and skills.

    There are always so many things that could be done that each Workawayer could select activities best fitting his or her skills and interests. We would expect around 3-4 hours per day of help (5 days per week) for room and food. For some of the larger projects, we might prefer longer blocks of time on the weekends when we can work with you, freeing up more days for you during the week. But all that's pretty flexible, too.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Private bedroom with queen bed, with your own bathroom (with shower) across the hall. Additional space in a nearby room for an inflatable mattress, if needed. We would love to have you join us for meals, if you choose. Otherwise you can have space in the fridge and cabinet for your own food. Families, couples, or singles are all welcome.

    We have excellent internet access, with wi-fi. Cell phone service is not very reliable, though.

    No drugs; no smoking inside (preferably no smoking at all). Well-behaved pets are welcome; we have a large dog of our own.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The New River Valley and Blacksburg, Virginia are wonderful areas for outdoor activities, from hiking to fishing to boating to rock climbing. Blackburg is a fun college town where there are always activities going on...and lots of good restaurants and bars, of course. The Appalachian Trail is only a couple miles away from the house. We drive into Blacksburg (about 25 minutes away) almost daily and you could tag along and explore the town on your own using the public bus line.

    We are a friendly, laid-back family that likes to keep on the move with sports, music, and school activities. We don't get to travel nearly as much as we would like (pesky school and work keep getting in the way). Workaway travelers will hopefully give us the opportunity to interact with interesting people from different places, without even leaving our home!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dieser Gastgeber ist bereit, Reisende mit Haustieren bei sich aufzunehmen.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Around 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 396657215994