Join our bilingual family, share travel stories and help with renovations to our 60's villa in St Hippolyte du Fort, France



Bisher 35 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 22 Tage

  • Beschreibung


    Hi, we are a retired nurse and her daughter of 17 who originates from Togo. We like to have fun, danse, music, travel and meet new people from around the world. I personally have travelled with my backpack through more than 70 countries crossing Africa, South America, South east Asia, India and Australia and lived on 4 continents. I love exchanging experiences of world travels with others and experiencing other cultures. We expect those staying with us to respect our no smoking policy unless outside and no drugs at all please (other than for medical reasons). We have a mad but friendly small dog called Raffi who came back with us from the tropics and is French barking! We live at the base of the Cevennes mountains and are surrounded by lakes and rivers where we can bathe in the summer but the beach is about an hour away.
    I have tons of work to do that can range from building work to painting as well as gardening - though I should really say "tidying up the wildnerness". I have low stone walls that need rebuilding and furniture that needs stripping and painting too so the work is quite varied depending the time you come.

    We look forward to meeting you!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Sonstige Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are a bilingual French/English family but speak some rusty Spanish and basic German too. I have a huge experience of travelling and of the French culture of course!! You may also be able to learn some basic renovation skills!

  • Arbeit


    Hi, we have recently bought this 60's villa with much renovation to do but at the moment mostly help with sanding and paintwork is needed. We have a large garden though more like woods and yard area but for the moment we are mostly concentrating on the house. However, if anyone is keen on basic gardening or landscaping, that would be great too!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    French, English, Spanish and German

  • Unterkunft


    You will have your own room though if there are two of you then you may have to share though only if you are of the same sex (unless married). We have a small campervan too where we can sleep up to 3 (but only 2 adults if not too tall!!!). You will eat with us but be warned the food will be simple as I am not a great cook - any cooks gladly welcome!! Your food is provided along with bed in exchange for maximum 5 hours work a day 5 days a week. It would be possible to negotiate doing longer days to enable you to take full days off for a trip.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our area is beautiful with the Cevennes mountains all around us seen right from our doorstep and we love sitting on the balcony with our drinks admiring it all. There are regular but infrequent buses to Montpellier, Nimes and Le Vigan. There is much history to explore including roman sites and the Hugenaut region (with an excellent museum telling their story), rivers, walks, other local villages and the beautiful cities of Nimes and Montpellier (about an hour each on the bus). I can pick you up from the bus station but with all the work to do at the moment I may not have much time for taking you out on day trips. The small town is typically French, friendly with an excellent large market on Fridays selling mostly local produce, several small restaurants and cafés and a supermarket. We have a lot of talented craftspeople and artists in the region too who sell in the market or in nearby villages. The area was famous for silk production in the past and there is a museum to visit to tell you about it. We have several local vinyards and excellent wine that you will no doubt want to try out too along with the delicious cheeses of the region! The nearest méditerranéen beaches are just over an hours drive away but one can also bathe in the river that passes through the town. I do have 3 bicycles that you are welcome to borrow for day trips. The town centre is only 10mins walk along a lovely well lit newly created tarmac path following the old railway line that used to run by the house.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

view from kitchen
next project, the mazet!
view on side of house
back of house
view from balcony
me and my daughter
Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 392288667667