Waterfalls, natural swimming pool, lots of nature in a beautiful valley near Cocorna, Colombia

Country

Kolumbien

new host  

Bisher 75 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

    noch nicht bewertet
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    22.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    96.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I just bought 4 hectares (10 acres) of land 2 hours outside of Medellin in a beautiful (and warm!) valley near Cocorna. The property has waterfalls, streams, a natural swimming pool, fruit trees, avocado trees, chickens, dogs and cats. The property is hilly - from the top it has excellent views across the valley. There are 3 basic cabins on the property, I'm slowly fixing them up, improving the land, adding a garden, a chicken coop (and now a hot tub!) The water is pure from natural springs on the property. The air is pure. Much of the food is organic, and with time more and more of it will be grown on the property itself. There are hammocks. Loving dogs. Regular BBQs (veggie okay, meat okay, vegans - best talk to me first!).

    In the area around there's paragliding, white water rafting and kayaking, horseback riding and one of the coolest little typical colombian towns you'll find with a lively town square and very few other extranjeros (I've actually never seen any, but I'm sure there must be some, sometimes).

    There are 3 big rivers nearby - rio melcocho - a favourite weekend destination for colombians where you can hang out on glass-like river, float, fish etc., rio Santa Domingo (just down the road), and rio Samana (with white water rafting).

    I can point you in the right direction for paragliding and white water rafting if you're interested. I can also point you in the right direction if you're interested in trying more life-expanding activities like ayahuasca.

    This property is a little paradise, but it needs some work. I have spare cabins and beds (they are basic, but they work and you'll likely spend most of your time outside anyways), so I thought this seemed like it might benefit everyone.

    Edit: Now that I've hosted a few workawayers, some important bits to help you decide if this is the right place for you: On average so far there have been 2-4 workawayers here at any one time. If you're looking for a hostel like experience with lots of other people - this isn't it! It's much more suited to a relaxed and chilled stay. Bring a book!

    This place is beautiful, and if you're into nature, birds, insects, plants, you'll love it. But it's rough around the edges. You will need to be a little flexible with some things. If you don't have particular skills (building, plumbing, electrician, gardening etc) - expect that you'll probably be digging for the first 2 or 3 days until we see where you fit best. This is hard work! There's lots of digging to be done - but don't worry - noone digs their whole time here. Expect to put in some honest work, and it'll work out. There's also some painting work, stone-laying, path-building (digging!), poo collecting (really!), leaf collecting and some rock and earthbag building work on the go, depending on when you get here.

    About me, I'm Canadian, but have spent most of my life living in other countries. Have travelled extensively. Former adrenaline junky, downhill mountain biker, kitesurfer, snowboarder.

    I'm a software engineer by profession.

    Spent a lot of time learning about health, food, disease. Now mostly work hard on the land, spend time on inner exploration with Ayahuasca, and slowly seeing if I can build a community here of folks who work remotely and value their health enough to live outside of the city. In the meantime, sharing the land with travelers who want to experience nature and offer a helping hand in exchange.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The area is as of yet still unknown to most foreign travellers (though a well-known vacation destination for colombians). The local town is as colombian as it gets. You'll never hear english spoken there. Basically, as soon as you set foot off the property - you're in a totally local, immersive, colombian small town experience. If you want spanish lessons - I've never gotten any, but I'm sure I can find people happy to sit down and talk to you for an hour or two a day.

    If you're interested in experiencing an ayahuasca ceremony while you're here - I can recommend a couple of places where you'll be in safe hands. (On that note, alcohol & mind-expanding substances are welcome - in reasonable amounts AFTER work is done)

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    As it's such an early stage - anyone is welcome. There is work for anyone. I'd particularly love anyone with experience building - with wood, bamboo, or earth. Or anyone with a trade - plumber, electrician, carpenter - anyone handy with tools who knows how to build things, permaculturists, anyone with experience with food gardens, or with raising chickens, but if you can dig with a shovel and provide basic labour - and understand that that kind of work is hard and are happy with that - then I'm happy to have you.

    Usually i work pretty hard in the mornings before it gets hot, then knock off early afternoon, go for a swim, lounge around the pool for a bit (fully natural fresh water - no chemicals at all!) and then do a bit of online work during the heat of the day. If you get up early, you'll be done in the morning and will have all afternoon to explore either the property, or nearby towns.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    english, spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Basic cabins. One cabin is a 2 bedroom for 3 people (one room with bunk bed, other with single bed), the other cabin is also a 2 bedroom, one single bed in one, one double bed in the other. This cabin is further up, so a bit of climbing is needed to reach it. Please note - not all the bedrooms have doors - some have dangly bead type things. Basically, don't expect a ton of privacy, but there won't be more than 3 people in a cabin, and you may have your own room, so it's better than most hostels.

    I live in a 3rd cabin.

    Each cabin has a basic kitchen with stove, fridge, basic dishes, pots, cutlery etc. BBQ is available. Ideally I'd like to be able to do group meals at least a few times a week, but you will need to cook for yourself most of the time. Some fruit available on the property. Bananas, avocados, limes, guanabana, papaya, mango and a few as yet unidentified species are available at certain times, depending on when they mature.

    Hopefully we'll have a garden soon (edit: now have garden!) and will have fresh organic vegetables, and the chicken coop is almost built, so we should have free range eggs soon. I'lI regularly go into town and buy fresh vegetables, some meat, and basics like milk, rice, beans, oats. Note that you will need to cook with local ingredients, there is limited (ie: no!) availability of some foods that would be considered normal in the west. If there's something you absolutely must have to eat or drink - bring it with you! That includes wine (not available nearby), tea (crazy, but true), good bread (there is bad bread!), many spices and probably lots of other things I'm not thinking of.

    Note, internet right now is 4g with Claro (must be claro) and you'll need to buy your own prepaid data plans. Speeds are pretty decent - the tower is across the valley in direct sight. As an example for cost - you can get 2gb for 20 mil pesos prepaid. Less if you use less obviously. I'm working on getting a real internet connection put in, but this is Colombia and everything moves slowly here.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The whole area is beautiful, and there are lots of other activities available. I mentioned them above. Truth is, I'm still discovering them myself as well, so will update as I discover.

    You can get to the local town (5km away) anytime - there's a local 'paid hitchhiking' system, generally costs about 3000 pesos to get a lift into town. From there you can get buses to Cocorna or anywhere else nearby you want to explore. To get to Medellin or Rio Negro/Marinilla you don't even need to do that - buses pass right in front of the property.

    To get here - take a bus from Medellin to San Francisco (buy a ticket for Pailania - 12/14 000 pesos) and get off 5km past La Pinuela. They can literally drop you off at the driveway. It's a 2 hour bus ride.

    Before you come we'll exchange whats app details and I can send you the exact location from there so you know where to get off the bus.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours/day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 376641831711