We live on a small croft needing a helping hand with clearing and a beehive :) in the second largest village on the Isle of Skye, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 37 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    25.09.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    4

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We live on a small croft in the second largest village on the Isle of Skye. We have lived here for 15 years, starting from scratch to set up a vegetable, fruit and flower garden. We grow all our vegetables in a polytunnel, using organic methods of pest control. We have soft fruit bushes such as currants and gooseberries and an orchard of mostly apple and plum trees. The croft of about 2 acres has been planted with native trees. The main tasks would be help with shrub and hedge pruning, clearing ditches, path building, weeding and general maintenance. We have bikes which you are welcome to borrow to explore the rest of the island. There are buses to and around the island. This is a great place for walking, climbing and boat trips. Accommodation is in an en-suite room in the house.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We keep bees and have one active hive at the moment but hope to increase soon. There are sometimes opportunities to attend live music events, plays and films. Skye is home to the Scotland's Gaelic College which often has live performances.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We need help with clearing ditches before the winter rains, clearing the heather to create a path up the croft, pruning shrubs and bushes, clearing away tree branches, digging out brambles and weeding the polytunnel.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, a little French, a little Gaelic

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation is in an en-suite room. We try to use as much of our own produce as possible. We have our main meal in the evening.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is lots to see and do on Skye. It is a walker's and climber's paradise and there are local buses to take you around. We can lend bikes too. We also take B&B guests on occasions so we like to keep the house tidy.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Cutting the grass with a young relative!
The cherry tree in Spring
Clematis montana at the front of the house
A rainbow over Broadford Bay from the front of the house
A snowy winter!
Sunrise.
The steps to the river need some attention!
Some of our composting bins.
Trees in pots at the back of the house.
The orchard.
The fire tree in all its glory.
Inside the polytunnel.
Inside the greenhouse.

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.5)

Kommunikation: (4.5)






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 375711278541