aktualisiert  

Live the country life at my strawbale homestead in South Ryegate, Vermont, USA

  • Bisher 70 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 17 Juni 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello! This is my second year on the homestead in rural Vermont. Food-wise, last year I grew mushrooms (wine cap, shitake), some annuals (beans, greens, radishes, squash, herbs, etc etc), and started planting fruit and nut trees: chestnuts, bur oaks, seaberries, pawpaws, mulberries and more. Everything very experimental and on a small scale. There were already loads of apple trees, some plums, pears, and berries. I also got really excited about foraging and started to learn some of the local plants and mushrooms. This year I want to do way more of that!

    On the property there’s a strawbale house, a big pole barn and a cottage that I have started to renovate. I’d like to build a sauna in the near future and there are usually opportunities for practicing some carpentry. This isn’t a business and the main reason I want to host workawayers is to share this lovely place with others and enjoy learning and working together.

    Some of the guideposts for how I am living and working the land here: Learn to use hand tools, like scythes and chisels. Prioritize wildlife habitat. Have a place that people want to be a part of. Share really good food. Spend a lot of time outdoors. Make inside spaces beautiful and handmade feeling. Treat the land and its creatures as the teacher. Try lots of things and see what works and what’s a good way to pass the time.


    We have some resident porcupines that make their presence known in Summer and in the Fall they are basically attached to the apple trees. There are a couple small ponds that come alive with frogs and salamanders in the Spring. Deer pass through regularly. Recently there's a bear that wanders through the blackberries. Owls perch next to the barn in winter and hoot throughout the forest the rest of the year. Grouse raise their chicks in the back orchard. Coyotes visit in the Fall.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I think what I can best offer is a taste of the lifestyle in case you are thinking this might be a way you would like to live and hopefully good camaraderie as we complete projects and play on the land. I want to accomodate the projects to your own interests so you are learning the things that you want to! I lived in South America for some years and speak Spanish and a little Portuguese and would be happy to share some of that. We can cook meals together. Most of my groceries come from local farms and the co-op. Also, I have a good friend in the area who has a farm with horses, goats, chickens, snakes, etc that is a lovely gathering spot.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    This spring we will be planting fruit and nut trees around the property and in the process better defining the shape of the orchards or “forest gardens”. We will also build some air prune boxes to grow trees and shrubs from seed to then transplant in the Fall. We’ll take cuttings from trees and shrubs already on the property (elderberries, currants, willows, etc) and propagate them. We’ll forage fiddleheads, ramps and a whole lot more.

    There’s also some work to do on the landscape. Moving soil, mulch, rocks and clearing old fences from the property.

    There is an annual garden which we can toss some seed into. Personally I’m more interested in the perennials and trees but that means we can be whimsical with the annuals and not overthink it.

    We will also come up with new places to site the compost piles and firewood. The rainwater harvesting system, which is very basic, will also call for a little upgrade.

    So you can see there’s a lot of different things to touch on!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The upstairs of the strawbale house is unfinished but cozy nonetheless. That is where past workawayers, friends, and family have stayed. Otherwise you could camp on the land.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Within a half hour by car you can get to New Hampshire's White Mountains, Groton State Forest and its lovely lakes, and St. Johnsbury for a nice cafe, bakery and farmer's market. Montpelier is about an hour away. I usually head into one town or another a few times per week. The night sky here is dark! The pond is cold! Expect campfires, swimming, good food and drink.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 363265614629

Feedback (2)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





Dog sitting in the city of Seattle, WA, USA
Help with building a homestead for our family using sustainable practices in Vermont, USA