Hilfe gebraucht, Piemont, Italien



Bisher 384 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Abzeichen


 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    My partner (71, Belgian) and I (60, British) live in a spot of Piemonte paradise, restoring a 34 room country house with 1.5 hectares of mixed use garden, orchard, vegetable garden, vineyard and woods. Left almost abandoned for more than 20 years, it is a careful re-invigoration that we are doing. (House and gardens) With only the 2 of us, pace is slow. I'm an Architect with 25 years experience in the field of Project Management of International Hospitality projects, and my partner has more than 40 years experience in the field of Real Estate. His other skills and passions are Botany and Cooking. (he is expert at both).
    With our professional backgrounds we might sound too professional, but what we're looking for are volunteers who know what their owns skill and capabilities are. We welcome volunteers with enthusiasm too, but appreciate that some tasks might not suit them, depending on time of year (garden work particularly) or experience for building assistance.

    Our volunteers have provided us with much of the help commitments during previous years. For 2020 we encourage our volunteers to plan a 2 week involvement, where a project can be the focus with its completion.

    SPECIAL NOTE. As a result of the Corona Virus, and lock-down implimented in many countries, we are regretfully needing to discourage volunteers for summer 2020. The risk of infection remains a concern and as two retirees, we hope that you may understand that we need to be careful toward welcoming unknown persons to our home.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    Skills we'd like to receive assistance with are,
    a) general garden maintenance for vegetable garden, orchard, vineyard (season focused jobs), flower beds and borders, For a talented and creative builder/garden we have 3 rough coral stone garden benches needing either reconstruction or repair.

    Our projects warranting assistance include,

    1. Review and adjust our multitude of windows (over 70 pairs) to make them fit properly, repair/paint where needed and install the correct hardware.
    2. Helping reset our website, where we've erroneously loaded files that are too big .
    3. Catalog our library, so that once it relocated to a new location within the house, we'll know what and where our books are.
    4. We have a multitude of project. Some are delayed due to scale, material procurement, the need for the correct skill base or even perhaps we haven't defined our own intentions. If you demonstrate know-how and interest, we might be able to give you one of the projects.
    Restore a wonderful iron gallery that passes through the garden
    5. Lay a new bathroom floor (18m2) using retrieved cement tiles from the early 1900's
    6. Prepare a floor (80m2) for the long term use of the room (presently only iron beams and infill) with a wood parquet tile finish.
    7. Fending off the onslaught of weeds through the seasons, and winning the cause.

    Our list varies in response to other needs. We want you to enjoy your stay, and thus want to develop a programme that is beneficial to everyone.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    We have several bedrooms and two bathrooms solely for the use of our visitors. They are comfortably furnished.

    We'll provide you with meals whilst you stay with us.
    Special note. Whilst we respect that everyone is free to chose their manner of living, we have chosen not to make special provisions toward volunteers with special dietary needs. Our cooking is well received through feedback comments, and planning second menus is impractical. Our aim is that you shall be part of our community and enjoy all that is presents. Please be assured we cook with good and fresh products and select a healthy and generous manner in the way we live.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are located 1km from the local station and village. The nearest town is 7km away. Bistagno is an ancient village with approx 1000 village inhabitants and a further 1000 around the district. Farming/wine production are the main industry, with support toward the sector from light industry and small manufacturers(including furniture making)

    Our home is located on the edge of the Monferrato and Langhe wine areas, plus Alba with its traditional seasonal Truffles market is only an hour away.

    Anyone taking a break to participate in Workaway will not be
    disappointed in the region or our hospitality.
    Acqui Terme (town on 20,000) has thermal spas and wonderful hills for trekking and cycling. The coast is only 1 hour away and easily reached even by train.

    Visitors to our region are outdoors people, looking for the beauty, tranquility and culture of wine and food. Hiking, walking, and cycling. It is a slow pace of life, that has frequently been lost in the busy cities of the north. Here, neighbours and friendships remain important in the rural community.

    Philip and I speak a cluster of language (English, Italian, French, German, Dutch/Flemish), and have keen interests in the culture of our region. Our library contains a host of sources to help you plan your spare time, either in the vicinity or further afield in Piemonte and its historic sites, or in Liguria with its coastal towns and capital Genova.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    By agreement. A solution that works for both you and us. (Maximum 25 hours a week)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 356941482263