Gardening, painting and good company in Tolaga Bay, New Zealand

  • Neuseeland
  • Bisher 74 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 15 Aug. 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger



  • Beschreibung


    We are a couple in our early 60's living in a simple old Kiwi bach in the heart of Tolaga Bay township, a place with a rich and diverse culture and strong traditions. Tolaga Bay is the perfect gateway to the East Coast of New Zealand. We can help you get the most out of the hidden places that most tourists don't see.

    Our house is near the beach and the river, about 5 minutes walk away and an easy stroll to the pub, shops and golf club. The sea and the forests nearby supply most of our food, which is supplemented with vegetables and fruits grown in our organic garden. We eat fresh with whatever is in season and land on the table each day.

    We would like to host enthusiastic, self motivated and capable people willing to participate in our daily lives and share their knowledge and culture. Skilled tradies are very much in demand but energetic, curious and pro active individuals are always welcome. We provide our visitors with accommodation and meals in exchange for about 5 hours of home help and company each day.

    We renovate, maintain and rent dwellings for a living so we are always busy. Coming last on the list of jobs is our house which does not get looked after as much as we would like. We have started a much needed refurbishment project and we need help around the house and the garden.

    We prefer last minute enquiries as it is easier to fit into our busy schedule if we have a vacancy. Please contact us for availability and let us know what makes you tick.

    Looking forward to hearing from you.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We aim to bring the world into our home and share our way of life. Workaway is a fantastic way to visit and discover a new region, people, customs, how the others live. We are happy to teach, learn and exchange new skills. We respect strong ethics, common sense, good manners, open and curious minds. We are here for you to enjoy and share our lifestyle and perhaps learn a bit of diy, cooking, language, alternative lifestyle. If you have made it as far as Tolaga Bay there must be something we have in common already. Lets find out.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    We welcome travelers happy to lend a hand cutting firewood, house maintenance, house renovation, landscaping, general help. You can choose what suits you most, paid work maybe available to people with the right skills.

    Keen gardeners are also welcome. Our garden is kept under control but has a tendency to overcome our best efforts at times.

    Anyone with a love of fishing or diving will always be a valuable crew member to our small fishing boat, weather and tide, and regretfully work commitments, permitting.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    Sleeping is in an independent private room with a queen size bed and ensuite bathroom. Linen is provided. Wifi is available to use within reason. We hope you are carrying your own phone and tablets or whatever connects you to the cyber world. It is customary to remove shoes at the door. Smoking, if you must, is strictly outside away from living quarters.

    Guests make their own breakfast and sometimes lunches and all other meals are cooked and shared in the house. Beatrice does a mean job in the kitchen but help is always welcome. Guests to provide their own alcohol if consumed, as well as processed snacks, cereals and soft drinks (ew). We do not smoke, do not do drugs or do not drink excessively and enjoy company on the same wavelength. We are not a hotel or a backpacker, nor your mum and dad. We expect our visitors to keep their accommodation tidy and clean up after themselves. When sharing our meals we appreciate help with meals preparation and the dishes, and whatever else is needed every day to keep the household rolling.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We may ask you to work a couple of hours or 5 hours a day. Depending what needs to be done on the day. You will be well fed with good home grown fresh food.

    Generally speaking we'll like to have someone stay for 2 to 6 days. We prefer someone mature with a few years of life experience under their belt. Singles preferred or couples who can function independently from each other, any nationality are welcome. If we get along you can stay as long as it works for all of us. If we don't get along you will know pretty soon.

    Your time off is yours to do as you please. There are beaches, walks, sites to explore and people to meet. There is a pub but no other entertainment except your own. The town of Gisborne is 60km away. We can take you with us when we go there if you do not have a car. Best to have your own car really. There are lots of sightseeing points you can only access with your own vehicle. No public transport around here. We have a couple of bicycles and kayaks for local expeditions.

    There are a few chickens, two caged canaries, a cat and three beehives on our property.

    When you live with us, like you would with family, we expect participation in all aspect of communal life while you are at home, even outside "working hours". If you lounge around looking at your small screen for hours while we work hard, we are not going to get along... Having said that we'd love to have you stay.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    About 5 hours a day every day

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 353793631696

Weitere Bilder


Join a busy happy family in Canterbury, New Zealand
Help needed in a rural place in HB, New Zealand! Great place to relax