Help make our garden beautiful and learn about permaculture in sunny Sarasota, Florida, US

Country

USA

aktualisiert  

Bisher 35 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    20.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    At this time we are only accepting guests who have been vaccinated. We are full through June. I always reply to messages. It might take me up to a week, but I WILL reply.

    We are a large, extroverted family. We often have our grown children or friends over (all vaccinated except for one adult child who had Covid). Bob hosts a monthly poker night. Diana doesn't play poker. Diana regularly plays board games with an adult daughter. Our teen loves video games and anime and is very active in after school activities when not working at the local bookstore. It is not at all unusual to have one to three unexpected dinner guests. Bob smokes outside.

    We have two dogs, one cat, three egg-laying hens, and 30-40 fish in a pond. Maybe we will get more hens. We haven't decided.

    We love hosting people from all over. We like to throw parties during non-covid times. These days we host small things with our grown children, and outdoor movie nights, and small dinner parties. We have a new grandson whom we get to see almost daily. Some of us love board games and puzzles. Some of us like watching sporting events. Some of us like cooking international dishes, some of us like going to the beach. Some of us like cooking new things.

    Diana can bake almost anything, cook almost anything, sew, crochet, preserve, make jam, garden and is always trying something new. Bob can repair almost anything, build almost any wooden thing, and convert things like making the old kids play fort into a chicken coop. If there is something we cannot do, but we want to do, we learn how to do it. Please let us know if there is something you want to learn. If we don't know how, we will learn together. Do you want to learn to bake bread? Do you want to learn to make jam? Do you want to learn how to crochet? Do you want to practice English? We can do this with you.

    We have 2 acres that we want to turn into a homestead/botanical garden. Currently we have about fifteen trees that provide us with fruit or will when they are more mature. We want to transform our yard into a beautiful garden full of flowering and fruit trees and plants.

    We are looking for guests who are not afraid to jump in when they see a need. I am not a micro manager so we need people who see a messy table and just clean it, or a fire ant hill near the mailbox and take care of it without directions.
    Workaways can choose the fully furnished bedroom or a tent in the yard. Smoking is permitted outside. We were looking to host for two weeks, but now we prefer one month. We like to really get to know our guests and two weeks is not enough time.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We can teach you to bake and cook from scratch, to care for chickens, Florida permaculture, pesticide-alternatives. I can bake almost anything. I can sew almost anything except clothes. Bob is a licensed master electrician who is very handy and can teach you somethings, but he works about 10-12 hours/6 days a week.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for workaways who are willing to help outside a few hours a day weeding, planting, prepping soil for planting new plants, building small things like trellises, repairing the fence, killing fire ants, light housekeeping, gathering eggs, and other projects. We will have a list of projects to choose from, but some weeding will always be needed.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Diana is learning French and studies approximately 7-10 hours weekly.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have two bedrooms for our guests. One is large with an ensuite bathroom and one is average sized with a shared bathroom. We decide who gets the large bedroom by 1) couple or single person 2) who contacted us first 3) who arrives first. We cannot guarantee which room you will get.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are within walking distance to the closest grocery store. A car is recommended, but definitely not necessary. We have clean, safe, and reliable public transportation, but it is not as frequent as one might see in a large city. Most bus routes run hourly, some run every half hour.

    We have farmer's markets, craft and art shows, music events, lots of shopping. We are an hour south of Tampa. We have two large state parks nearby and dozens of small parks. We have a kayak you could use at many of the water ways here. We are about 25 minutes drive from one of the most beautiful beaches in the US.

    We ask that you clean up after yourself. We are typically up early and in bed around 10:00. We don't mind what time someone goes to bed, but they must be early risers, especially during the summer when being outside gets difficult later in the day.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have good working wi-fi, a printer, and many days and evenings it is often quiet and peaceful in the house.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 352869997132