Work with Alpacas & Llamas 20 kms from Canberra, Australia



Bisher 184 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Abzeichen

    Super Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    We run an alpaca and llama stud 20 kms from Canberra. We often host students (especially vet students) here to learn about handling and managing livestock and also about fibre crafting. We are an Alpaca, Llama, Donkey & Miniature Cattle Stud Farm. We are a tourist destination and we have a number of events we hold for the general public as well as teaching vet students about our animals. We enjoy sharing our skills with students and volunteers.

    We are looking for someone (or two people) who enjoy large livestock, general farming and gardening. Computer (Mac) skills would be very useful. Please let us know what other skills you have, and what skills you hope to learn here. Volunteers are invited to stay from 2 weeks (minimum) - 2 months depending on the season and the skills they have.

    We have some beautiful rocks in the paddock which are using to make a llama profile from the rocks to advertise our property to those passing by. We would especially like some workawayers to help with this task.

    Spring and autumn are our busiest times as we have females birthing and being remated. We also train the babies to walk on a lead.

    Please ensure you answer the questions below in your request.

    What is your name, sex, age and nationality?
    What is your native language?
    How well do you speak English?
    Do you love working with animals?
    Have you worked with large animals? If yes, what sort?
    What livestock skills or farm skills do you have?
    What skills do you have that are not related to farms and animals?
    What skills to you hope to learn here?
    Are you friendly, cheerful and respectful of other people, animals and property?
    Are you self motivated?
    Do you prefer to work alone or in a team?
    Why have you chosen to apply to Alpaca Magic for this workaway job?
    What dates are you available?
    we have a minimum stay of 2 weeks - maximum 3 months. How long would you like to stay?
    Do you have your own transport? Can you drive a manual vehicle.
    Do you drink, smoke or take drugs?
    What are your other interests/hobbies?
    Please send your CV

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Volunteers will learn a lot about alpacas & llamas (both of which are fairly rare animals). They will also learn a lot about other farm animals. They are likely meet a lot of vet students and tourists coming to our farm to learn about farming and livestock as well as fibre craft.

  • Arbeit


    You would need to love animals because much of your time here will be feeding, working with, training and enjoying our llamas, alpacas, donkeys and miniature cattle.

    We have lots of general farming and maintenance work as well as some gardening work to be done.
    Do you have other skills too? Please tell us what they are.

    Your own transport would be big advantage.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    Caravan close to the homestead for sleeping quarters. Nearby you will have your own bathroom, toilet, relaxation area with fridge and microwave, tea and coffee etc food is included. Their bathroom, relaxation area needs to be kept clean and tidy. Cooking and cleaning up in the housewill be shared
    Kitchen and Laundry use in main house. Sharing cooking etc

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Canberra (capital of Australia) is 20 kms away. Lots of tourist attractions there, but there is no public transport from Alpaca Magic to Canberra.
    Opportunity to learn about unusual livestock, farming and farm lifestyle, fibre craft (spinning, felting etc) improving English.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Usually around 5 hours per day. On shearing and Open days may be longer hours, but time off in lieu will be given

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 352685613611