Come and help me with maintenance and yard work in Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 100 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    24.01.2022

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    474

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am a 77 years young man and live in my self-built large log home unfortunately for several years alone. The house is designed for B&B. I'm a lifelong environmentalist, that escalated early to anti-nuclear weapons and then nuclear power plants. Now I'm very active to keep the fracking industry out of my beautiful Yukon and the whole world in general.
    I'm still active with several outdoor sports like downhill and x-country skiing and snowmobiling in winter. I used to have sled dogs too. In summer I go hiking, biking, canoeing, and kayaking and for longer trips, I use my ATV.
    But the environmental activism is taking a lot of time away, from enjoying all the fun activities.
    That means also finishing the details on the house, which is also heated with a wood gasification boiler for the in-floor heat. (This was my trade)
    Altogether it is just getting a bit too much.
    Unfortunately, now we have strict travel restrictions, and I had a stroke in February 2021.
    I would prefer to get someone with woodworking experience, or willing to learn, and single, I can't afford to have two people.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Travelers could benefit from my fast 37 years long experience here in the Yukon and the north. Also the experiences during my life with environmental concerns.
    I would for sure show "workaway" people the historic places around Whitehorse and the beauty of my home area, during the of work times.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    General help in the house. There are a lot of trims not finished around the loghouse. Building with me an outdoor storage that could be heated in winter to store paint and the like there, that is sitting now in the area where two more bedrooms and a shower toilet room should be built.
    Especially in fall and winter with firewood. That is bucked up, by chainsaw, from a truckload of full-sized trees to boiler length and stored in the woodshed, from there it comes in the basement to get split with an electric splitter and then feed to the wood gasification boiler. That provides the heat to the in-floor heat and makes up the domestic hot water year round. (so this could be a big part of work in winter)
    In fall and spring general yard work, raking dead grass and leafs to go to the compost. To keep the yard clean and safe from forest fires.
    Hopefully next year gardening in a rootzone solar heated garden.

    Also the building projects.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    All my guest bedrooms are in the half basement (every bedroom has a window) with twin beds. One big king size in a large common room, the bed is separated with a curtain from the rest of the room.
    Food is prepared in the central place of the house, the kitchen. Since I'm originally Swiss I still tend to lean towards that kind of food. Yes, I like a steak, potatoes, and corn on the cob too. I make almost every day a large salad.
    I can provide first class accommodation unless I would have the bedrooms rented out for paying guest. Then we would have to come up with an alternative solution.
    The overflow bed behind the curtain, the large bed couch in the living room. In summer when it is here a large motorhome or a tent outside.
    I'm working on more bedrooms in the basement. That is what I would need help too. Then one of the existing bedrooms could be a designated room for the workawayers.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Since the house is located 40 km south of Whitehorse in the beautiful Carcross valley without any public transportation it is hard to go to town. For sure my helpers could come with me, if I go to town for shopping or what ever. We could arrange for whole days in town to sightsee or got to the Takhini Hot Springs and Game sanctuary. Or go hiking or go to Carcross an old Native village 36 km south on Bennett Lake.
    I'm for sure not a slave pusher as long as I get some work done with my helpers.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    I have lots of space to park camper vans, electrical connection and even a damp station.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    As long as they are well housetrained and get along with my pets.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 347211727779