Help needed with digging, permaculture gardening and eco-construction to establish a community in Malpica do Tejo, Portugal



Bisher 66 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    I have now started a project living in nature on a large site of land in the middle of nowhere. Just beginning this project so still in the very early stage.

    I am a Portuguese national living in London for 30 years. I am planning to form a community where we can all build our shelters and create lots of art in the food forest.

    At the moment I am away working in London and there is a volunteer looking after the land who would need an helping hand and company.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Accepting helpers from all around the world for any length of time for a variety of different kinds of tasks to be performed

    Working towards a food forest, self-sufficiency, and money-less living. Growing food, producing own energy, crafting own tools, using our own water, natural buildings.

    The aim is to build an Off-grid, self-sufficient cob village, Creative community.

    Besides learning and sharing experience, you will have an opportunity to observe and explore local rural lifestyle and surroundings. Life here is laid back and relaxing, not much activities to offer, except nature walks. Our location is right on edge of natural reserve of Rio Tejo, so there is diversity of wildlife to be found. River Tejo is 5km away.

  • Arbeit


    Help is needed with clearing and restoring the land, planting trees and digging ponds and swales. Creating and taking care of the food forest, planting vegetables and trees, watering fruit trees, collecting firewood, build a lake, building outside showers and compost toilets, use natural methods of building and work with reclaimed materials as much as possible.

    5 hours a day in exchange for food and accommodation

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    Portuguese, English, Italian

  • Unterkunft


    Shared accommodation 50 minutes walk from the land, in the village of Malpica, in a 4 bedroom house ( 10 minutes by car). You would have to share the room with another person. One room for females only and one room for males only. Couples can have their own room.
    We all share the house tasks of cooking and tidying.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    City in Castelo Branco District, Portugal
    Malpica do Tejo is one of the 19 Municipalities of Castelo Branco District; it had 517 inhabitants in 2011 and covers 246.0 km².

    Tejo Internacional Natural Park
    If you enjoy silence and harsh Nature, you will find it in the 40 kilometres of a park full of fauna and flora rarities. At one of the least populated areas in Portugal, animals and plants rule. Among holm oaks and cork oaks, heather and rosemary, there 154 bird species, 44 mammal species, 15 amphibian species, 20 reptile species, 12 fish species and 153 insect species coexisting in the Tejo Internacional Natural Park area, making it one of the most important protected areas in Portugal. Here, in the Castelo Branco municipality, where the Tagus River meets Spain, the Natural Park combines the best of Nature with historical and cultural heritage. Traces from the Neolithic and Roman graves live side-by-side with rustic villages where almost no one lives and the landscape integrates harmoniously the popular architecture of local traditional villages which seem to receive it with open arms.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 345687635236