Help with setting up self-suficient homestead in Paraty - RJ, Brasil

Country

Brasilien

Bisher 16 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    23.11.2020

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a semi-retired couple, I`m Irene, a vet, my husband, Greg an IT engineer. Our children are adults. We want to live in a self-sustaining way.

    We are in Paraty, state of Rio de Janeiro, Brasil. (Look up on the net for more info on this place, it´s mainly protected areas, awesome beaches, world heritage - paraty dot com dot br). We are living in an unfinished traditional (brick and mortar) house on a 1500m2 block, with ocean and mountain views and 2 cats and 3 dogs (though there´s always 1 or 2 more staying for medical attention).

    I also have a 6.1 ha high in the mountains where I once lived for 3 years. It´s been abandoned for many years, but I still have hopes of doing something with it one day (if I can find the right people to help). Not the priority right now!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    My husband is Australian. I have 3 nationalities. Brazilian, Dutch and Australian and I speak the 3 languages fluently, so if language is your thing, I might help. We speak English at home.

    I am still running a vet practice, so if you want to help and learn something here, you´re welcome.

    I also have a degree in Biology / Nature Conservation / Organic Agriculture from Wageningen University, Holland.

    And if IT is your thing, Greg may be able able to teach you a thing or 2.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Short time help is welcome, but I am really looking for a couple / 2 people who want to stay longer.

    The tasks that need to be done right now are mainly gardening, maintenance of fruit trees, help with mowing grass.
    We need to build terraces for veggie gardens (the land is fairly steep), a place for chooks / ducks, I am planning to build a place for raising edible frogs and I would like to try and raise some capivaras.
    My son has got a boat, so we will be getting fish from the ocean too.

    We are starting to harvest some produce that needs to be processed for preservation. Help is needed here too.

    We need to build a bio-digestor, compost places, rocket stoves and drum oven.

    The side of the block is very steep and we need to plant bananas there, maybe beans and cassava too. It has secondary growth on it now but the trees are getting too tall and blocking the ocean view. Bananas are easy to prune.

    Traveling visas in Brasil are for 3 months last time I looked, but can be extended to 6. I will help with that if needed. And if you decide to stay for the long haul, I`ll help with that too.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Dutch: Fließend
    Portuguese: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have your own bedroom with a king size bed (ideal for couples); if more than 1 volunteer there´s a sofabed or (your) tent.
    The rest of the house is shared.
    You will eat all meals with us, for free, but if you want to cook your own thing, at your own expense, you can do that too.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Paraty, has a 1000 things happening all year round. From Blues, Food, Sustainability and Film festivals to native peoples gatherings.
    Nearby, there´s trekking to do. We are adjacent to the Bocaina National Park and there are plenty of beautiful beaches to relax.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 335134712631