Permaculture, eco-building, creativity and a lot of chilling in a social valley in Portugal



Bisher 218 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Abzeichen

    Super Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

  • Beschreibung


    Hey everyone! I'm Sorrel and I have a little girl, Willow.
    We moved to Portugal 2 years ago and since then we have built an earthbag house, made a beautiful garden, done a lot of construction projects and created a (seasonal) social hub which involves renting out a campervan, a small campsite and biweekly cinema nights. Winters, are more quiet however. We love it here and there is an amazing community in the valley we live in, with other workaways, social events here and in other local venues and a lot of nature.

    At the moment, my daughter and I live in a renovated stone house which belongs to my brother. He sometimes visits us but he lives on another piece of land most of the time. My daughters father lives on the adjacent piece of land in the earthbag house. We have chickens and a cat and there are a few dogs that live in the Valley.

    We can share lots of knowledge with you about growing and making and we hope to include you in the process as I make this place more comfortable for Willow and I.

    I am looking for a couple/ two friends/a mum and child / a family.... who likes children, enjoys nature, wants to learn about and be involved with growing food, wants to build stuff, relax and hang out with people in the evenings, cook, want to learn about eco-building and enjoys making places beautiful with creative arts. You will have your own van and space with drinking water, so you can be private if you want to be.

    I can provide two meals a day in exchange for help on the land, we wont work hard! only a few hours a day. The weekends are usually all for events and parties but it depends on the week.

    I ask that all shared meals are vegan or vegetarian.
    We also ask that you either bring your own plant based soaps and other bathroom products or use ours. All our water is reused and we do not want it contaminated with any chemical products so we ask you not to bring them.
    Apart from this, we are very laid back and want you to enjoy your stay with us!

    We look forward to meeting you!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This is an opportunity to learn about community living, gardening and caring for children and animals. Castelo Branco is only 10 minutes drive from the land and there is plenty to do and see there.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    At the moment I would like to build up the vegetable garden, improve the guest area and convert the underside of my house into a bedroom. I would also love to learn Portuguese and get help looking after my daughter by providing her with people to play with and new people to learn from.

    I'm not certain what jobs there might be to do, but I would just love to have companions to chat to sometimes in the evenings, share meals together, share living and parenting responsibilities like cooking and cleaning as well as maintaining the land and keeping it a healthy and thriving ecosystem.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an

  • Unterkunft


    Currently there is a van with a double mattress. It is too small for a family so an extra tent would be needed if there were children.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is a great train and bus connection service from Lisbon to Castelo Branco and I am happy to come and pick you up.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Ideal! if you have your own accommodation, amazing!

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dieser Gastgeber ist bereit, Reisende mit Haustieren bei sich aufzunehmen.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.4)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 334878182319