Organic homesteading in Sunshine Bay near Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 373 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    50  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    31.05.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi everyone! Thank you for your interest in staying with us.

    Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we are seeking one or two Workaway volunteers who can stay for two months minimum and are willing to go into quarantine here for the first two weeks. Quarantining would mean staying in our cozy and comfortable heated travel trailer (parked in a safe and beautiful setting) that includes warm water for showering and washing up along with cooking facilities. We ask that you not leave the property other than to go for a walk or a hike in the beautiful wilderness that surrounds us. Trips to town and mixing with other people are not an option unfortunately. My husband and I are healthy but we are older and therefore fall into the 20% group in terms of being very vulnerable to the virus so whoever stays with us needs to take the pandemic seriously and self-isolate with us. You will have lots of outdoor time - most work takes place outdoors.

    Also, we only really need one person because of the amount of work required but we are willing to take two because of the situation, and so you are not lonely in these more isolating times. However, if there are two of you asking to come, we ask for 25 hours a week total (not the normal 50 hours for two) and you pay for your food and do most of your cooking in the trailer or outside and would be welcome to use our oven. Once you're out of quarantine, we'd be happy to share some meals together and have some good conversations around the fire.

    Our place is peaceful and beautiful and we will lovingly and respectfully take care of you if your priority is our safety and health.

    So, come join us on our beautiful and tranquil homestead in the West Kootenays! We love sharing our place with others and invite you to help us here while exploring this stunning part of the world in your spare time.

    We live on a large piece of land surrounded by fields and mountains 40 minutes outside of the town of Nelson. We're a 5 minute walk to Sunshine Bay Park where you can walk the trails, swim in Kootenay Lake (in August only) or watch the sunset. Our property includes our timber-frame home, guesthouse, barn/workshop, animal houses and greenhouse. We also have a big organic vegetable garden along with heritage livestock - Nigerian Dwarf dairy goats, Indian Runner ducks and heritage breed chickens.

    Russell is passionate about his organic garden where he grows an abundance of food for us to eat and I am passionate about our animals - livestock and pets - and provide exceptional care for all of them.

    Most of our vegetables are homegrown and organic!

    We are not travellers and one of the wonderful aspects of having people through the Workaway program who come and stay with us is that you bring other countries and cultures to us. We've been fortunate in that many of our Workawayers have stayed for 2 to 5 months when possible and we've developed some wonderful friendships.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Here you can see what it takes to run a homestead and all the work involved in growing and raising your own food. We could also help you work on your English. The other benefits include staying in a stunningly beautiful part of the world that is peaceful, gentle and fun!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Between April and October, most of our needs involve fencing, some harvesting of fruit and vegetables, cleaning out the barn and smaller animal houses, painting, weed whacking/cutting grass, house cleaning, wood stacking, cooking, outside house maintenance, etc. - all the necessary tasks of running a homestead. We also occasionally ask Workawayers to farm-sit for us.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Depending on the time of year and what's in use, we can offer - a lovely bright room out in the garden with a queen size bed or a nice trailer with a queen size bed.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    At this time, because of the pandemic we are asking workawayers to not leave our property, unless to go for a walk, hike or swim. There are lots of trails for walking and a lakeside beach close by.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    25 per person/week

View from our 'mostly' vegetable garden looking towards the main house
Our garden and the building in the background is a garden shed and bedroom where workawayers can sleep.
View of our pond and animal houses behind with beautiful view of the mountains.
Same garden, different perspective
Our Nigerian Dwarf dairy goats
Siesta time for the lovers
Drying our onions in the garden with cabbage in the foreground
A medley of veggies from the greenhouse
Lettuce anyone?
Sunday breakfast
Lunch.....or a light dinner
Russell's specialty
Eyal making us paella on the fire!
Stella and Barney
Dawn and Russell

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)




























Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 333212393577