Help on a permaculture garden and plant nursery in rural Limousin, France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 189 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    30.11.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    388

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We have a plant nursery, a market garden, a milking cow due to calf in April, geese, goats, , ducks, and chickens, therefore you will be able to gain invaluable experience in all areas of running a small working farm.

    We run a small vegetable box scheme for customers in the local area and supply some nearby restaurants with vegetables and salad. We also sell our produce directly from the farm.

    We are looking for people interested in our way of life, learning about farming, growing food, managing a business, cooking and eating. We are just as interested in learning about you, so come with an open mind, positivity and drive to assimilate as much information and experience as you can.....because it's priceless!

    About us: We are a friendly couple, enjoying the sunshine with two cats who love exploring the outdoors. We speak English, some French, and basic Spanish, Romanian, we enjoy cooking, baking, crafting and most importantly gardening,

    We have two Maine Coon cats, Mitzy (a girl) and Boo (a boy). Chris is an avid American football and wrestling fan, spends time writing, mainly comedy and reading, and writes a newsletter about professional wrestling.

    We have been absent from workaway or the last 18 moths, hence no recent reviews.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachpraxis

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Please note this isn't not a suitable for people interested in city life, it suits a more outdoorsy personality, walking or just chilli under a tree, but most importantly if you choose us you must be willing to commit to participate and engage in what we do.

    If you are looking to get a feel for La Vie en Rose and rural France our location is perfect, beautiful country side with amazing walks. Plenty of small little charming towns and lakes, regular French Markets and beautiful sunshine. In our household we speak English so it would suit anyone, but you could take advantage and learn/improve your English skills.
    The area we are located in has very hot and sunny summer weather, there are several lakes within the vicinity, plenty of markets and beautiful quaint villages and towns to explore. We can drop you off to the nearest bus stop or train station from where you can explore the area.

    You will also have the opportunity to engage and learn new skills related to the activities we will be doing.

    I enjoy cooking and baking a wide range of world wide foods but look forward to new recipes and some help around the kitchen.

    Should you wish to explore the area on your own, I can take you to the nearest bus stop in Rochechuart, or train station St Junien from where you can travel around the area.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The main duties centre around maintaining growing space, including cutting lawns, creating vegetable beds using Permaculture and Hugel culture principles, hoeing, weeding, wood chipping, mulching, gathering hay, preparing wood for the winter storage, feeding the animals, ducks and chickens, saving seeds, sowing, planting, cooking, feeding the animals,making compost, and other chores as they arise.

    We are looking for self motivated helpers who are happy to do physically demanding work in the market garden, You will be on your feet for most of the working time so a degree of physical fitness is required and a positive, self starting attitude is a must. We would like people who can take the initiative and be able to work independently after being given guidance on the task.

    We would be particularly interested in helpers with other practical skills, e.g. carpentry, we would be particularly interested in hearing from you as we have a number of projects ongoing

    We would like helpers who are prepared and able to cook the evening meal. You will be responsible to preparing your own breakfast and lunch.

    If you are an enthusiastic, motivated and independent person, who is interested in learning about organic gardening, saving water techniques, what it takes to grow vegetables and save seeds, preserving food and baking, then this is the place for you. We would also be interested if you can teach us a new dish, a new language and of course, vice versa. If you know French it would be a great advantage as we are both looking to improve our French speaking ability. We can only accept female volunteers or couples.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Romanian: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The accommodation is in the ancient house, a room, double bed, arm chair, bedside cabinet, electrical heater. There is limited access to the downstairs bathroom which is fully equipped with a shower cabin, sink and toilet to be used during your working hours, There is plenty of games like chess, scrabble, etc.

    We have unlimited internet access, Also, please note that because we are rural, the mobile phone signal is weak.

    Whilst the evening meal will be taken in the an family home, your are expected to observe strict access times, in the communal areas.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The volunteering hours would for most times 8.30- 11, 1-3.30, but there is some flexibility.

    If you want to travel around the local area it will have to be during the week as at weekend rural French public transport is almost non existent.

    Due to the nature of the business, we can only transport helpers to the bus / train station at limited times and by Prior arrangement.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    25 hrs a week








Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 329896622253