An adventure in the Arctic, Iqaluit, Nunavut, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 69 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    15.04.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Come visit us in a really northern place and enjoy the toundra (no trees but beautiful lichen and tiny flowers during summer), snow (and some blizzards), great Northern light (aurora borealis). This city is isolated, no road linked it to any other communities, you will have to fly to come here and discover it, a unique cultural experience.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Kinderbetreuung
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hausarbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    At home, we speak French, but we all know English too and a few words and songs in Inuktitut, the Inuit language. We live in a multicultural city (lot of English and Inuktitut too), with a lot of traditional activity organized by local associations. For exemple, every April is a igloo building contest and dogsleed races during the Toonik Time Festival.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are a easy going family who love to met new people from around the world, travelling, sharing dinner with friends and enjoying live. Our 4 kids are happy children, easy going and always happy to met now people. We are looking for a workaway who will enjoy playing with our kids, going outside with them and helping in the house (like putting the toys away and washing dishes). The 2 oldest kids are at school during most part of the day, the 2 youngest are at home and I need a childrenssiter when I study or to do some errand. All our kids are good swimmers (we have a public swimmingpool and library in Iqaluit), enjoy building Legos and would love to learn music instrument (they did inuit drum dancing and recorder during summer camp) and new languages (they are actually learning some Inuktitut and English from school; and Japanese and Spanish online.)

    Note: We will be glad to host a family or people traveling by themself.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    french, english, a little german

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The workaday will be staying in our house and have his own bedroom. It will be fun if the workaway sit with us for meals and help to clean after. The helper can use the Internet to communicate , but not excessively (it's limited and slow) and not during his time with the children.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are located close to Sylvia Grinnell Territorial Park, which is reknowed for it's river and natural landscape. Lot of Northern lights! Fishing, camping and geocaching are all possible (my favorite activity is cross country skiing). We have a public swimming pool in town, library, few restaurent/coffeshop, Inuit friendship center, etc. If the helper want to discover dog sleeding or go see the floe edge from the frozen sea there is organisations such as Inukpak Outfitter with really friendly staff. The helper can visit Nunavut web site for more infos.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    About 20 hours per week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.5)




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 327733356792