Gardening and light building help in beautiful rural County Mayo, Ireland

Country

Irland

Bisher 81 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    30.05.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 8 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Our stone house is situated in farmland in a lovely peaceful part of County Mayo near lakes, mountains, bog land and forests and about half an hour's drive from the coast. The nearest village is 15 minutes walk away and there are a couple of bikes you can use to get around and explore the countryside. I am English but have lived in Mayo for some 45 years. I am retired and my three children live away from home now so I'd welcome some help in maintaining and further developing my medium-sized garden and starting an organic vegetable patch again. There are also various other light building and renovation projects I have in mind that are just waiting to be done! I have a friendly cat and may get more hens - a mink/pine marten got the last three.

    County Mayo is the third largest county in Ireland and is wild and beautiful. The local mountain area, the Nephin Beg range, was once described as "the loneliest place in Ireland" by the naturalist, Robert Lloyd Praeger and recently has been officially designated a 'Wilderness Area'. There is plenty to see and do: including hill-walking, woodland walks, beaches, bogs, ancient neolithic sites, the Wild Atlantic Way, fishing, surfing, diving, horse riding, historic houses to visit, music, irish dancing, and artistic and cultural events to enjoy.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hausarbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I believe in fostering goodwill and mutual understanding between people and will aim to make your stay pleasant and informative. I can help with improving your English if you wish and I speak a little French. I am also happy to give you lifts to town when I'm going, or to places of interest and cultural events that you may want to go to.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I would like help for 3-5 hours per day/20 hours per week, on a flexible basis, depending on the weather, whatever else is going on, and on your own own travel plans. It would be great if you already have some gardening and/or a little building experience or skills.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    some French.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    There is a comfortable double bedroom and bathroom for your own use. Meals will be provided - though you are welcome to do your own cooking if and when you feel like it. No smoking is allowed in the house.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    As already mentioned, there are bicycles you can borrow. The village is 15 minutes' walk away and our nearest town is 10 km distant. Public transport is very limited, but i will happily take you on my trips to town as well as further afield to see local sights and cultural venues. There is much to see and do here, especially if you are interested in the outdoors: for example, flora and fauna, painting or photography, cycling, swimming, fishing, etc. The North Mayo Heritage Centre is just up the road, Ballycroy National Park, the Ceide Fields, Foxford Woollen Mills, Westport House, and the Great Western Greenway are all within 20-60 minutes' drive, to name but a few interesting places to visit on your time off.

    In the past, when actively farming, I enjoyed having occasional volunteers, mostly agricultural students from Brittany. My neighbours and friends are pleased to meet visitors from other countries and are proud to share their Irish lifestyle and culture. The village has a church, a supermarket and post office, two pubs, one takeaway, and a small Whiskey Distillery has just been started.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 319599239127