1 / 5

Join our multi-cultural family on our Appalachian mountain homestead in Pineville, USA

  • USA
  • Bisher 17 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 8 Sept. 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben



  • Beschreibung


    **When I am in KY is when I'm looking to host, or at least, to start a hosting relationship. For 2023, that will probably be April, July, October, November.**

    I live in MA part time, and part time in Southeast KY on the 200-acre homestead where I grew up. A menagerie of other family members and animals live here, both domesticated and wild. My brother might be tending goats, cows, chickens, dogs, a pony, a couple pigs, cats, ducks, geese, etc. My dad might be tending his vegetable garden. We're out in the country, in the mountains, and we enjoy meeting new people and sharing this amazing land with them. We're almost always doing something that could be funner and more educational with a new friend. We like learning about how other people do things, their lives and their homelands.

    You might like to explore the caves and rock formations behind the house, go swimming in the pond, milk goats, speak Spanish and teach English with my Central American relatives who live here. If you are looking for a break from urbanization, materialism, information overload, and constant busyness, you might like this rural setting.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    If you ever wondered how eggs and milk and meat are made, or how good a homegrown tomato is, or how a brother-sister combo can eat 15 watermelons in one week, then you might enjoy visiting our homestead. My dad, among other things, is a theologian/philospher, and will happily discuss quantum physics with you. And maybe we would go to my niece and nephew's high school wrestling match, or track meet.

    We don't have a lot of interactions with our neighbors. ( due to the geography? car culture/lack of meeting people by walking? religious, class, other cultural differences? Personality differences? After 45 years, I still don't know.) But we'd like to know them more.

    Here you can have a taste of rural Appalachia, appreciate nature, dawn and dusk without artificial lights.
    If you're used to constant outside stimulation, learn to slow down and be present with yourself and your surroundings.

    I like when visitors help my see my homeland with new eyes.
    We'd like to meet you!

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    There are 3 houses on the property, and 7-8 people between the ages of 16 and 87. My priority is helping out my dad. He's 87 and likes to dig up bittersweet, transplant blueberries, keep the drainage ditches clean, read, write, learn, educate, meet people, contemplate, and take naps.
    His vision is deteriorating, though, so it makes it a lot harder to do things around the house, such as cleaning, finding things, fixing things around the house like clocks, lamps, tools, doors, windows. These are things that I do, but it would be fun to do them with someone else. And gardening, pruning fruit trees and berry bushes, planting trees.
    Really, I just like company and making friends.
    My in-laws would enjoy company who can talk Spanish with them. They're isolated not speaking much English and living in this rural place. My brother likes to show off his goats and other farm animals. Sometimes he could use help on things like walking the fenceline, moving hay, shoveling manure, butchering an animal. My sister-in-law has beautiful flower gardens she could use help keeping up with. Another helpful thing is just picking up trash that the dogs chew, the pigs root open, the cats claw, the chickens peck, and the wind blows away.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    You'd be staying in one of the 3 houses with us, in a private room with bath. Either in my dad's house, or possibly my inlaws house, or my brother's family's house. or camping in yard, field, or forest, or wherever you feel most comfortable.
    We have homegrown food, all year round - butternut squash, black walnuts, goat milk, eggs, chicken and pig meat, frozen vegetables, canned tomatoes, persimmons, chestnuts, corn, mushrooms if you're a wild forager, etc.
    There is a small store a mile away, and a big store 25 miles away.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    If you enjoy the mountains, you might not want to leave for the first week. We're right here in them. If you want to explore nearby, Henderson Settlement Methodist mission is about 4 miles away. Pine Mountain State
    Park is 11 miles. Cumberland Gap National Historic Park is 20 miles. You can climb nearby mountains and old strip mines and see the devastation. Neither my dad nor I drive, but we have extra bicycles and I will go biking with you. Closest public transit is the Greyhound stop 50 miles north in London or 80 miles south in Knoxville. If you are flexible with timing, we can most likely find someone to pick you up or drop you off.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    My brother works online and my nephew is always programming, so we have a good wifi connection.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have lots of space.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    probably not dogs, since there are already 6 dogs here, and sometimes they brawl. or kill livestock.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 314938956346

Weitere Bilder


COME PLAY WITH MUD! 1st time Homesteaders need help with cob and sometimes our pets while we're away. RIo Rancho, NM, USA
Jiu-Jitsu Community in North Carolina, USA