Help wanted with our dogs in a valley close to Gorropu Canyon, Dorgali, Italy

Country

Italien

Bisher 547 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    27  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    05.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    96.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
    For April, May and June I'm looking for a couple or 2 people that get along and want to stay at my house and help to take care of the dogs. I will be out working most of the time.
    <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

    ====Prerequisites====:
    - experience with dogs, but you can't bring your own pet, to avoid tension and unpleasant situations between the dogs. Take the dogs out for a walk every single day (for the dogs see description below).
    - willing to do some work on the terrain and around the house.
    - you need to be handy to do some gardening and small jobs around the house.
    - willing to stay here alone as I'm frequently on a multiple day tour with tourists.
    - you have to clean up after yourself and keep the place orderly in general.
    - minimum stay 2 weeks

    <<<<<<<<<<<<<
    OCTOBER - NOVEMBER Helping out with preparing and harvesting the Olives
    <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
    For the end of October - beginning of November 2022 I'm looking for people that want to help out with harvesting the olives, I can't accepted families with children due to limited space.

    <<<<<<<<<<< ABOUT ME >>>>>>>
    I am a Dutchman and I have been living in Sardinia from the year 2000 years on a small olive farm. I work for 6 months a year as a tourist and hiking guide and the rest of my time is dedicated to living in the country side and sports The olive farm is situated on a slope with multiple terraces and stunning views on the beautiful valley surrounded by mountains. It's 14 km to the nearest beach and 6 km out of town.
    Besides olives there are a lot of almond trees and some other fruit trees like prunes, figs and apricots.

    <<<<<<<<<<<< ABOUT THE FARM >>>>>>>>>>>>>
    My small farm is not commercial, it's too small for that, at the same time it's too big for a hobby.
    The only thing we get from the grid is electrical power, we have to take care of our own spring water, sewage and the road to get here. In other words I don't make money with this project and I have to put in a lot of passion and love (which means hard work), in my spare time to get stuff done around here. So I don't exploit you as cheap labor, instead I like to share my lifestyle with like-minded people.

    ==== ABOUT THE DOGS====:
    We have 3 dogs, most likely you'll have to take care of only 2. They are good company and are allowed to come into the house. There are 2 medium sized ones, both males, Mesh and Scivu (Scivu is castrated) they are both, mix terrier and the third is a sterilized female mix border collie and Sardinian sheep dog, Zara.
    Scivu is a bit bossy, but Zara is definitely the leader of the pack. They are both from end of 2015, Mesh is the underdog he's a couple of years older.
    Zara is very fast and agile and likes to run a lot. Scivu likes to play a lot and asks for your attention, he likes to play rough chasing games wit Zara. Mesh keeps more to himself and likes to cuddle up to you in the evening.
    All are well educated and used to walking on the leash. Zara is very protective and doesn't allow strangers nearby, with a little bit of patience however when she gets used to you you'll start to discover that she's very affectionate. And you'll become part of her pack that she wants to protect :)
    Have a look at the photos of the dogs and the house.

    <<<<<<<<<<<< ABOUT THE HOUSE >>>>>>>>>>
    The house has a kitchen, living room, bathroom and two bedrooms that are all on the same floor and the wood heater is in the center. There are beautiful sitting areas outside that overlook the valley and the mountains where you can lunch outside on sunny days.

    <<<<<<<<<<< ABOUT THE SURROUNDINGS >>>>>>>>>>>>>
    The valley is covered in vineyards and olive groves and only few families live here. The closest town Dorgali has 9000 inhabitants and is 6 km away. The nearest beach is 15 km away, 20 minutes by car, on the other side of the mountain, there are plenty of hiking possibilities. The Gorropu canyon is one of the best known hiking trails around here, then there are the famous walks to Cala Luna and Tiscali, you can reach the start of these walks in 20 - 30 min by car

    <<<<<<<<<<< THE CLIMATE >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    Don't be afraid to come in autumn and winter because November to April is a beautiful time of year here as days are crisp in the morning and can warm up to between 12 and 25 DEGREES around lunchtime, the views in this time of year are crystal clear. In winter there is always enough to do outside, so no lack of fresh air.
    Summer is usually very hot, and to get anything done you have to get up at 05.00, this is why in July and August I can't accept volunteers.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Learn all about olive cultivation and olive oil.
    Learn about living in the country side.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for people that collaborate with us, and that outside of the working hours do not create extra work for us. Be prepared to "work away", NOT "holiday away".
    By using this site, you get the possibility to look in other peoples life through helping them out, through the act of sharing their tasks and in this way get a broader perspective on the world and on your own life.

    ==== THE HOUSEHOLD
    It is important that everybody helps out with the work and with the general household tasks. This means first of all cleaning up after yourself ;) , people that are used to other people cleaning up after them should not apply. For both work and household tasks I ask people to observe how we do things, and concentrate on what we ask them to do and finish doing it, in other words we ask people to be present and help out instead of play guests and create work for us. EVERYBODY HAS TO TAKE THEIR SHARE OF HOUSEHOLD CHORES, OUTSIDE OF WORKING HOURS, JUST LIKE IN EVERYDAY FAMILY LIFE.
    In the common spaces we expect you to help with the normal household chores, like sweeping the floor, cleaning the kitchen and the bathroom. We also expect you to keep your own sleeping quarters clean. So when you come you get a clean place and when you leave you leave it clean.

    ===== THE WORK ON THE LAND ====
    We ask you for 4,5 to 5 hrs of work per day on the land and take part in the normal household chores on top.
    We take two days per week off from work (the dogs still need to be fed if you came for taking care of the dogs) so you have time to discover the area, on the days off we still provide food, and you might ave to cook yourself. If there are household jobs you're still invited to help out.
    During the olive picking days we expect you to work from 09.00 - 15.00 with one hour for lunch, this is 5 hours of work. We work for 3 days, then take one day off.
    Besides picking olives there are a lot of different fruit trees like figs and peaches that we use for making jam.
    Some of the things I need some help with is:
    - cutting grass and shrubs
    - light building jobs in wood around the house.

    ===== TAKING CARE OF THE DOGS ======
    If you come here to take care of the dogs, time spent for walking and feeding them is considered as working time. So this is seven days a week, 1,5 hours per day for walking, feeding and cleaning up after the dogs (sweeping the floor).
    This means that from the 5 days of 5 hours = 25 hours per week there's roughly 14 hrs per week left that you can spend on gardening jobs.

    ===== IN RETURN FOR YOUR HELP =====
    In return for your help, I take care really well of you, you get a warm and comfortable room and the common living spaces (living room, bathroom, kitchen and terraces) are orderly and clean. You get 3 meals per day, tea, coffee, (soy)milk and some fruit.

    ===== WORK ETHICS ======
    Some people are distracted and leave the tools and other stuff lying around the house and the terrain, often they don't put things back where they find them, I can't find the pruning scissors anymore or they only wash part of the dishes and forget to clean the kitchen top, or light the wood burner without sweeping up the mess they just made. Maybe they think I or someone else will take the role of their mum and clean after them? Who knows..
    Morale of this tale: if you start a job, be present and finish it. Be responsible for what you do, I don't like to treat people like little children but unfortunately it has happened.
    So to save both of us embarrassments like this, if you did not have a good laugh about what I just wrote, don't apply to come over and help out :)

    ===== SPARE TIME =====
    In the afternoon and on the days off you can go to town or go for a walk on your own or with one of the dogs or go for a bike ride. Sometimes I'll go to the beach or hike in the mountains and of course you can come.
    There are 2 mountain bikes, a guitar, a drum, various tools to work on your fitness like kettle bells, steel maces and Indian clubs.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Bedroom in the house, possibly shared with another person.
    Independent room next to the house.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The farm is 6 km out of town, you can hitchhike to town which is easy around here.
    The area is excellent for hiking, mountainbiking and climbing. We have mountainbikes for your use.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    For a digital nomad there is the possibility to work in the living room, in your bedroom or outside. It is very peaceful out here. There is no fixed internet connection, but the mobile connection works very well here. I used to have internet via satellite but with the improving mobile connection I eliminated it.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Due to the narrow road with a few short stretches (150 meters) of dirt road you'll be able to get here only with a van - camper.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week (2 days off)

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.7)

Kommunikation: (4.7)


















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 312967876142