aktualisiert  

Help build an off-grid forest home in Trebons, France

  • Frankreich
  • Bisher 70 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 03.02.2023

Verfügbarkeit

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    THE HOSTS

    Much to our surprise, we have bought a house in the forest. And we have bought the forest.

    We is Rachel and Florian. Rachel works in transforming the food system for biodiversity, climate, and people. Florian is a photographer and electrician. Florian put work aside to concentrate on building our home for the next couple of years. We share our home with Pirate and Oso the rescue dogs, Manny and Luna the donkeys, and a gang of chickens.

    We spent many years living in tents and vans, working on farms, and getting lost in nature. We didn't have money, but we had a great time. And then all of a sudden, things changed, and now we find ourselves with a home and 10.5 hectares of land.

    We are vegetarian. We speak French, English, and Spanish.

    THE HOUSE

    The house is in the process of renovation. Think concrete, think piles of tools in every corner. You can expect cobwebs and dust. You can also expect campfires, listening to the river and the owls. We live 2.5 km down a private track. We don't have hot water or a shower. We do have comfy double beds and flushing toilets. We wash in the river. We have friends stay often.

    We have no wifi and almost no phone signal. We do have clouds of butterflies drifting around the place and birds of prey circling above us.

    THE WORK

    There is an entire house to renovate, a forest to take care of, and plenty of animals that need some love and care.

    For the physically strong, every hour you do with the strimmer clearing brambles counts as at least 2 hours in our book ;). Otherwise, you can help Florian with electrics, plumbing, building. Or you can help by cooking food and cleaning. We have done workaway all over the world, so we think we can offer a fair exchange where everyone benefits.

    We will treat you as a family member and invite you to come with us to see our friends. Or, if you prefer, we will let you have some personal space and do your own thing. We live near mountains where there is lots of hiking and skiing to enjoy. But if you want to access this kind of thing, a vehicle would be very helpful to you. (Adventurous souls will get by hitchhiking).

    We ask you to help us for four hours a day five days a week.

    THE RULES

    We will treat you with respect and kindness and we ask you for the same. Our home is a safe place for all people and animals, if someone shows physical or emotional violence to another person or animal in our home, we will invite you to leave. Otherwise, just be yourself. And we will accept you for that.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You can practice French or English with Florian. He spent 6 years travelling, living in a tent and hitchhiking.
    Nearby you have the famous town of Lourdes, where many Catholic people go on a pilgrimage.
    There are also hot springs, skiing, hiking, and horse riding possibilities in the area.
    The closest town is Bagneres de Bigorre - a nice town with busy markets and lots of wonderful, alternative people.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Florian would love some help - building fences, renovating the home, generally making things house-like
    Rachel would be open to support with cooking/cleaning/animals/land.
    You can tell us what you do best and we can find a way for you to do this
    Or you can tell us what you want to learn, and we can teach you.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You'll have a double bed and access to a toilet.
    The kitchen is usable, and there's a couple of battered sofas to collapse on in front of the fire.
    In winter, it could be too cold for you. You will have access to a box of jumpers, electric blankets on your bed and there is a log fire. But it is an old stone house in the forest, without central heating.
    You won't have wifi but we have a data sim so you can check your emails and do your travel research etc. It can't be used for streaming movies, though.
    You won't have a hot shower (we have made a solar camping shower cabin in the forest if you want more privacy than the river ;) )

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We can pick you up from Lourdes, Tarbes, or Bagneres de Bigorre. If you want a lift from Lourdes or Tarbes, let us know your times in advance so we can try to coordinate with other errands.
    It is also possible to get a bus to Trebons (our village) for 2 euros from Lourdes or Bagneres de Bigorre. Hitchhiking is also easy in the area.
    A vehicle is a plus as we are so isolated in the forest. If you don't have one, we can bring you along with us when we go to the market/visit friends etc

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We can host people with other projects but internet isn't up to much. Rachel occasionally goes to a coworking space in a nearby town, and it's possible you might want to come along - super fast internet, but costs about 8 euros a day to be at the coworking.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    A small van like a berlingo could make it down our track. A big campervan would struggle on the hairpin bends. Let us know about your vehicle and we will advise.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    We have two castrated male dogs, chickens, and donkeys. We would consider accepting animals on a case-by-case basis. (If they don't cause any stress to our animals, it's not a problem).

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4 hrs/ day, 5 days a week.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 312522925871

Feedback (1)


Weitere Bilder

Feedback



Hilf mit bei Alltagsarbeiten und beim Restaurieren unseres alten Bauernhauses in Strandnähe in der Normandie, Frankreich
Volunteer as part of our evolving contemplative community near Poitiers, France