Renovierungs- und Gartenarbeit - Oak Bay, Victoria

Country

Kanada

Bisher 178 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    36  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    26.09.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I live in Oak Bay (a municipality of Victoria, BC) and have a professional background as a scientist and engineer. My current interests include writing, public speaking, climate-change awareness, sustainable living, gardening, green construction, environmental design, yoga, nutrition and outdoor pursuits. Since moving to Oak Bay in 2012, I've been engaged in restoring my older home, where I live full-time. Most of the difficult work on the home is now behind me, but there is a lot of garden work, light carpentry and house-related construction work remaining. I am very open to learning about and creating resilient food gardens on my "deer-owned" property, and delight in making my ample workshop available for any creative projects that fit with a shared vision for the home.
    I enjoy outdoor activities of all kinds, particularly kayaking and cycling, which are ideally suited to the Victoria environment. Weather permitting, I enjoy taking my guests for a paddle to nearby islands or on hikes to many trails in the region. I also have bikes available for guests.
    Ours is a non-smoking household, and alcohol is enjoyed very rarely. A small and extremely friendly family dog visits for the day, from time to time,

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Sprachpraxis

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Travellers could benefit from an exchange of ideas and knowledge in a wide variety of subjects, including cooking, nutrition, food gardening, construction, philosophy, language learning, and outdoor exploration.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I have a very large lot that had been neglected for several years, but thanks to the efforts of many wonderful Workaway guests the property is beginning to show very well. I still need assistance in restoring the gardens in preparation for Spring. My intention is to create a beautiful property that is ecologically sound and environmentally sustainable (it now includes a small deer population).
    I am also engaged in other renovation projects that demand a range of skills, including light carpentry, cement and stone work, painting and tiling. I am keenly interested in learning Portuguese.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Portuguese: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The house is located centrally on a very large, private lot. It is wheel-chair accessible with a private bedroom for guests, and two full bathrooms (one will be upgraded soon). A separate ground-level "suite" is nearing completion, and a finished bedroom is available there for accommodation.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    1. One km distance to ocean for kayaking or boating.
    2. Short distance to downtown Victoria for bicycle enthusiasts.
    3. Home is on a direct bus route connecting to University of Victoria, Camosun College, downtown Victoria and beyond.
    4. Home is a short walk to the Oak Bay shopping district.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4-5

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)
























Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 285725196837