Englisches Ehepaar in der Bretagne braucht Workawayers

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 77 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    09.01.2020

  • Abzeichen

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are an English couple early/mid 60's living in the Gers, South West France. We live in a tiny hamlet about 1.5 kilometres away from a small village in a beautiful area 3 kilometres from the nearest market town, Eauze, the capital of the Armagnac region. The house is set in 7 acres and is surrounded by vineyards and the area is also known for its fields of sunflowers. We also have a selection of house cats, barn cats and three retired horses.

    We moved here eight years ago to renovate our house, a farmhouse build in the Landes style, which at that time was a total ruin. Eight years on the house is almost finished but we have work left to do on the exterior, creating a collombage wall all along one side and taking off the render and exposing and pointing the stone walls to create pierre-apparente.

    Dave is a retired engineer with a lot of building experience so is able to train/instruct in various aspects of building whilst completing the required work.
    Ann is a keen amateur cook and gardener and is happy to give guidance/ideas in various culinary and gardening skills.

    Apart from a beautiful area of France we have a large size swimming pool and enjoy spending a long summers' evening over a barbecue and a glass or two of local wine. We are an easy going couple who enjoy good food - including meat. We have a wide range of taste in music.

    Many towns and villages have fetes during the summer months ranging from a small band or singer to Tempo Latino in Vic Fezensac and Jazz in Marciac. You can also join us in a weekly game of petanque in the village with the locals or even venture a game of quilles (a regional skittles game).

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for help assisting with building a collombage wall, removing render and creating two pierre-apparente walls to the house and one on a large barn. Assisting with renovating a barn, partly completed, and further barns which require restoration. Field maintenance including fencing and strimming around the boundaries and garden maintenance including strimming, weeding and lawn mowing. We also have a large mound of vine roots which need moving and stacking and logs to be cut up.
    - WE ARE CURRENTLY NOT TAKING WORKAWAYERS IN 2011

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We can offer accommodation either in the house with one double bedroom, a twin bedded room and a separate bathroom, for your personal use. Or for the outdoor types, it may be possible to organise a caravan or even a tent close to the swimming pool near to the house.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We have three grown up children and two grandchildren and feel we are a very relaxed couple who get on well with people of all ages. We look forward to the opportunity of sharing our home, our meals and our time with volunteers in exchange for some help in finishing off our house.

    Ryanair, Easyjet and BMI baby offer cheap flights to airports in this area including, Pau (1 hr), Lourdes 1 hr), Toulouse (2 hr), Bordeaux (2 hr) and Bergerac (2 hr). We are happy to pick volunteers up from the airport. There is also the TGV train which comes as far as Agen (about 1 hour from the house).

    We can take up to 4 volunteers at a time.

    We have free broadband at present in the house and are looking to install Wi-Fi for the summer.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 27786273854b