Practice sustainability with a community of urban gardeners in Bellingham, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 71 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    31.03.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    This is an amazing urban garden with hiking and kayaking out my back door. I have a rainwater system, solar panels and live on a salmon stream. But we are a ten minute bike ride to town.

    I will be returning in April from 18 months backpacking South America and Asia. I’m playing catch-up.
    It’s a communal place with 4 people and two dogs on a half acre + urban landscape two miles from town.
    Sustainable practices integrated here. Love travelers. I can speak Spanish and love to take travelers kayaking (down the street is Puget Sound) and backpacking in the nearby mountains with me. If you love the outdoors, this is the place.

    I can use someone from April 15th until September 30. Early on (April 15-June1) will be garden prepping, planting, weeding and cleaning up the property. And keeping the pests and animals away. It is an organic urban garden (though not certified)
    June until August is mainly weeding and crabbing if you like and getting creative on repairs etc. August until end of September is weeding and harvesting and storing (and eating!). There is plenty to do, but we can spread it out. I am assuming an average of 2-3 hours per day over 5 days a week. That can be done in many ways and/or all at once. Because the days are long and there is much to do here in the summer.

    I really, really prefer travelers from other countries. I am not looking to house someone locally. This is an opportunity to learn from some of my rock star gardener friends and enjoy one of the last great places in the US.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I speak Spanish, have traveled extensively and have a knowledge of green living. My place has integrated many sustainable practices. Four people total live on the property. Three women and two dogs and me.
    I know the outdoors very well here also.

    I prefer foreigners. This is not a summer haven for locals. I love to show travelers the area. Mountains, ocean, music, local scene. You will get the whole thing if you want.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I have an amazing urban garden and get back from traveling in April so have plenty of planting and prepping and weeding. Management and pests in June. Starting to harvest in July. Harvest and storage July to September. I’m new to this site but have friends that have used the site so I understand its purpose and function.
    You’ll have use of the whole place which is a terraced half acre with two buildings. A rainwater and solar system. An outdoor wood fired sauna and several kayaks. The Bay is down the street. We will also be crabbing from the kayaks. I need one person. You will use my place for everything but will sleep in a tent on the property.
    It’s an amazing spot. Hiking trails across the street. Bike to town. Walk to water. Probably 2-3 hours a day depending on the crabbing.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    I have a large tent you can you camp down by the stream. But you would have full use of everything here. The property has a nice camping spot near the stream and below the terraces. There are three living units but mine is where you can cook, play music and shower etc. If our energies connect, you can certainly sleep in the living room on the futon and I have beddings or that. Or for more privacy, I have a great and comfortable camper van parked on the side of the house with mattress and beddings. I just used it to travel 6 months in Patagonia and use it as a guest room for friends and family. It’s sweet.

    An organic smoothie using local fruits and veggies every morning. Tea and coffee. Lunch is on your own. You can eat anything you want from the garden.
    Dinner is normally chicken or fish and a veggie. I will cook for you three nights a week and we can decide what you want. I eat healthy.
    When I am gone you’ll have the whole place to yourself. It’s awesome.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Hiking and kayaking and yoga are all in my itinerary daily. Town is less than ten min biking. Outdoor Cobb pizza oven. Garden etc. Full kitchen. We share a lot.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    2-3 hours daily. 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 272654669839