Volunteer at our family historic home and garden with forest and fishery in Ireland

Country

Irland

Bisher 977 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    32  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    21.01.2021

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    A family run historic house and estate with forestry farm and fishery. Our house a historic building on the banks of the beautiful river Boyne overlooking the megalithic sites of Newgrange and Knowth which are world heritage sites 40 mins from Dublin and in the heart of a beautiful landscape ,we have mature trees and a garden that needs a lot of help with ,I SAY,family run but its actually just me and my amazing partner.We also have some very friendly pets 2 dogs and a cat lots of hens and some geese
    Unless you have lived in an old house you cant imagine the maintenance involved in keeping it all going ,we ve had some really lovely volunteers this summer ,we ve had barbecues ,and picnics on the river we ,ve learnt from each other different dishes ,and have had many a good evening .
    I think it great to interact with people from other backgrounds and cultures ,I have travelled a lot and have lived for many years in east Africa and India ,My son and his young family live very nearby and there are another 2 young families who live on the estate ,
    We need willing able volunteers to help in the forestry in the organic vegetable garden and some maintenance tasks painting and carpentry would be useful skills to have.And if anyone out there can sew make curtains or repair you would also be most welcome .
    Marketing skills on rainy days would also be great .
    We provide you with your own kitchen so when we are not having a BBQ or doing Pizza s in the forest you can cook for yourselves .We will go to Lidl or Aldi once a week with you and you can choose what you like to eat for the week

    Obviously we can not find one person to fill in all categories ,so if anyone has experience in any of the areas and would like to come here ,that would be just great .
    thank you !
    look forward to hearing from you !
    PS
    We have had some last minute cancellations last summer ,this can be very difficult for us as we do not have that much space to accomodate a lot of workawayers and as we have a lot of requests in the early part of the year we have usually had to reject a lot ,so please consider and do not let us down by cancelling .

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
    Unterrichten

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    There is a lot you can learn about vegetable growing and gardening .We are right beside some very important historical sites which you can visit ,we have bicycles for you to use in the evenings and on days off .
    We like to take our workawayers on a hike in the mountains at least once or a trip to the beach or a trip to Tara (ancient seat of the High Kings of Ireland )
    You can swim in the river (for the hardy types) canoe on the river Boyne or spend an evening fishing and get lucky and catch a trout .

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are restoring a fishery on the River Boyne ,need help with clearing weeds debris and fallen wood

    Our plan is to restore our section of the river for flyfishing for the conservation of Salmon and trout
    This river project is for summer months as the river is too high during the winter to help there
    There will also be help around the farm clearing areas ,and painting stable doors

    House maintenance ,painting ,carpentry ,outdoor tasks and gardening ,cleaning
    We are also clearing a lot of wood fom the forest and need help there
    Sewing repairing upholstery ,making or repairing curtains

    Help is 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week ,
    evening and weekends are free.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    German: Grundkenntnisse
    French: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    New Mobile home next to main house ,with cooking facilities ,shower ect
    3 bedrooms ,

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is a lot to see in this historic area of Ireland ,we overlook the megalithic tombs called Newgrange ,we live just on the banks of the river Boyne ,There is plenty to do here,fishing,walking,swimming if you dont mind the cold river ,cycling ,visiting the ancient sites of the Boyne valley ,
    We have an outdoor pizza oven and a barbecue area so in the summer we have lovely evenings together chatting ,exchanging ideas ect.
    There are local pubs with traditional music iwhich is only 40 mins away n the nearby village ,and there are regular busses to
    Dublin city which is 40 minutes away

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours per day (max 25hours/week)

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)























Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 271321824163